Mushroom Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This Meatloaf was terrific. I used "Meatloaf Mix" (1/3 beef, veal and pork) and 8 oz sliced Baby Bella Mushrooms. Took advice of one reviewer and sauteed 3/4's of the mushrooms with onion and garlic in 1 Tblsp Butter and 1 Tblsp Olive oil before mixing in with meat mixture. Then, I put sliced mushrooms between two layers of the meat mixture before topping it off. Also used 1/4 c.Hickory Smoked (commercial) BBQ Sauce and 1/4 c. ketchup instead of all ketchup. Finally, used equal parts ketchup, BBQ sauce and Steak sauce to make 1/2 cup sauce to spread of top of loaf. Flavor was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
This recipe was good... I made some interesting substitutions that you all could try. I used eggbeaters instead of whole eggs. I also have two ideas for the fresh mushrooms... Pennsylvania Dutch canned mushrooms or Cambell's Beefy Mushroom soup in the can, don't add water. Also scallions instead of onion... different flavor. tomato paste instead of katchup, and 2 Tbs. Steak Sauce, and dont forget fresh minced garlic and 1/2 cup Italian style breadcrums. I've tried all of this and it tastes great. Leave a little of the tomato paste to cover the top for the last 15-20 minutes of cook time. Thanks for listening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
Probably the best meatloaf I've ever had. I didn't make any substitutions to the recipe, but I didn't have exactly 2 pounds of ground beef (1 1/2). It was SO moist and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bethsanchez23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
I thought this was great! I added more mushrooms than called for and also added some carrots and celery to sneak in some more vegetables. It came out moist and delicious. I will definately keep this as my regular meatloaf recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Recovery, Ohio, USA
Living In: Coldwater, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
This meatloaf is delicious! My husband and all of my friends love it. I know it's hard to get excited over meatloaf, but believe me, when my friends find out I'm making this for dinner, they invite themselves over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JODI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enon Valley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Clinton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
Only 3 stars! My husband and I thought it was ok. We really liked having the mushrooms in it. Other then that it tasted like plain old meatloaf. Nothing special..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I have made this 3 or 4 times now, and each time it gets better and better. The only thing I added was a bit of garlic salt just for more taste. It always works really well if you throw everything into a mixer..... gotta Love only washing two things, the mixer and the dish you cook it in!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
Great idea! I only used about 6 or 8 small sliced mushrooms and it was enough. The sauteed onions really give it a good taste. I reduced the meat to 1 lb and 1/2, which turned out to fit just right in my pan. I spread brown sugar and ketchup on top, because to me, that is what completes a good meatloaf. Overall good recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
This was sooo good. I left my mushrooms chopped too big and the meatloaf fell apart but still tasted wonderful. I added cheese to it but will not do that again. The loaf does not need it. Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
My first try @ meatlaof, husband & I both loved it. I must admit I made some additions based on other reviews; I added garlic to the meatloaf mixture & some slice of cheese to the middle; finally I topped the meatloaf with MISSMEGHAN's glaze. Can't wait to try the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathietay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winton, Southland, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Braised Mushroom Meatloaf

See how to make meatloaf braised in a creamy mushroom gravy.

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States