Mushroom Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This was the first meatloaf that I have ever made and the whole family loved it! The changes I made(thanks to reviews) were: onion soup mix instead on onion, cream of mushroom instead of ketchup, & garlic salt instead of salt. Next time I think that I will add some Swiss cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebelroze

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I would give this a 4.5 if it was possible! The recipe itself was good, but I did change it. Sauteed chopped mushrooms, onions, celery, and garlic. Added to meat mixture. Subbed Dorothy Lynch French dressing for catsup and baked 1 hour at 425 degrees. Very good! Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I LOVE this meatloaf! I'm not a meatloaf fan normally, but this recipe has become one of our favorites. One tip: form the meatloaf in a loaf pan and then slam in into a 9x13 baking dish and remove the loaf pan. The meatloaf will still keep it's loaf shape, but all the fat will go around it and the loaf won't be mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I made this gluten free by drying my own GF bread crumbs and I used ground turkey instead of ground beef. It was very tasty, definitely will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I always swore I would never make a meatloaf because my mother made it so often for dinner when I was a kid. But this morning I woke up and decided to surprise my husband with one and thank goodness I chose this meatloaf recipe. We both thought it was fabulous just as the recipe is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
absolutely delicious! i added some minced garlic, a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This was really good. I mixed a 1/4 cup alla vodka sauce in the meat mix and added diced japenos, some garlic, shallots and my husband loves it. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Delicious and very easy to make! I used BBQ sauce instead of ketchup; ground turkey instead of ground beef; crushed whole wheat crackers instead of bread crumbs. When I made it another time, I added a lot more mushroom (24 oz) to 1 lb of ground turkey and it turned out even more flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
The secret of this recipe is the minced mushrooms which keep the meatloaf juicy. I have been making this recipe for 3 years now. Originally I put the 6 whole mushrooms inside which was a novelty, but now I just mince all of the mushrooms as a preference and for the ease of slicing the cooked meatloaf. I add 1 tsp of oregano and replace the ketchup with a tomato-basil pasta sauce. For the last 5 minutes or so of cooking, I drain the fat away and put a little more of the pasta sauce on top to improve the appearance. A tasty and dependable recipe for a juicy meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
This was a fantastic recipe. I was hesitant as it looked too easy! I made 3 minor changes - I didn't leave any mushrooms un-minced as my son hates mushrooms and I wanted to hide them ;) and I added 3 leaves of fresh minced basil (mine grows like crazy so I add it to just about everything). My son loved it so much he had seconds! Also, I used Adoba seasoning instead of salt. Next time, I will try sauteing the onions and mushrooms first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Braised Mushroom Meatloaf

See how to make meatloaf braised in a creamy mushroom gravy.

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States