Mushroom Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
loved it...son says it is the best meatloaf ever. it's so good his friend will buy all the ingredients just so I make it when he is over. My only changes are to mince all the mushrooms and use a brown sugar, mustard, ketchup glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
Absolutely the best meatloaf recipe I have ever made. This will definitely be my "go-to" recipe from now on. I made only minor changes: I minced all the mushrooms. I also made a glaze combining "Red River Barbeque Sauce" and Dijon mustard. Proportions to taste. I applied the glaze during the last five minutes of baking and turned on the broiler. The glaze provided a nice little kick and another layer of flavor. The only other change I might consider would be using "meatloaf mix" instead of simply beef.My meatloaf hit target temperature in just over an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Cordaro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Mushroom Meatloaf Haiku: "Mushy and quite bland. Way too juicy and crumbly. Mushrooms not so great." So the "layer" of six whole mushrooms in the middle, coupled w/ the overly-moist texture, made cutting this into meatloaf slices a total fail. A pile of ground beef on our plate that looked unappetizing resulted in my husband not even finishing his plate, my daughter reluctantly finishing her's (so that she could "pretty please, pretty please have a kit-kat bar"), and me trying to salvage the leftovers by making a mixey-uppey taco salad the next day; fail there as well. We love mushrooms, we love meatloaf, but this recipe was just a dud for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly and we did not like it at all. It was very bland, had no taste in our opinion. My recipe is much better than this one. Will not be making this again. Can't believe all the 5 star reviews. Oh well I guess we all have different tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Probably the best meatloaf I've ever made or had!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Turned out dry. Not sure where I went wrong. Tried to make it totally by instructions. Have to find a way to moisten it. Taste was good, just dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
This is excellent! As many reviewer noted, I sauteed onion, mushroom, and garlic along with some leftover tomato pulp, and that flavor and moisture base was fantastic. Added worcestershire and garlic powder to the mix, and used oat bran instead of bread crumbs. I used a standard pkg of ground meat that was 1.3 lbs, adjusted the volume of other ingredients, and baked 425 for an hour, with a ketchup/mustard glaze. Next time will do a layer of cheese halfway inside the loaf. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Very tasty. As everyone does I made some changes. Added half Bell pepper chopped some garlic and worsterschire sauce to the loaf and added a glaze of ketchup, mustard, brown sugar and worsterchire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason Hinrichs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This is the BEST meatloaf I have ever made/tasted. My husband loved it too. It was so moist with a delicious taste. I pureed the onions and garlic before adding and misread the recipe so I only added 2/3 cups of bread crumbs. I minced the mushrooms really small and they added flavor but didn't stand out. My husband said I need to make this at least once a week. Thanks so much for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
The mushrooms kept the loaf very moist and juicy throughout. I made a few changes: 1) sauteed the onion and mushrooms with a little bit of fresh minced garlic before mixing into the meat, 2) doubled the bread crumbs portion, 3) topped with a glaze made with: ketchup, a dash of balsamic vinegar, sugar, and garlic powder. Turned out delicious and both my husband and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Braised Mushroom Meatloaf

See how to make meatloaf braised in a creamy mushroom gravy.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States