Mushroom Lentil Barley Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
This is an amazing soup! I made it two days before serving it for Christmas dinner (I had two vegans who came to dinner)and my guests were extremely impressed. My husband who likes hearty beef based soups was surprised at it's taste and called it "satisfying." Plus, my daughter-in-law who prides herself on her homemade soups stated it was the best soup she ever had. Need I say more? Thank you Carol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARENVG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2005
Excellent. Made it for dinner. Used poultry seasoning instead of summer savory. Whole family enjoyed it. Leftovers were given to a neighbor and my father who also loved it. Thanks for a gread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2005
We loved it! My husband is not a vegetarian, but thought it was great. We would probably use a bit less savory for our own tastes next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winneconne, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2005
Yum! I chopped up a whole onion instead of using flakes. Before putting everything into the crockpot, I sauteed the onion, 2 minced cloves of garlic, one grated carrot, and one minced jalapeno in some olive oil. Then I put that into the crockpot. I didn't have savory, so I just used italian seasoning in lieu of that and the basil. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
WE did not like this. I did everything just so and found the mushroom amount overwhelming. I didn't give it any less stars just in case mine was unusual. I would use only one-third of the mushrooms listed, the rest had a nice taste and texture. Love the barley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
I really want to like lentil soups, but I have yet to find one I like. As lentil soups go, this wasn't too bad (unlike some I've tried), but I wouldn't make it again. Maybe I should just give up on lentil soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
Maybe it's just my crock pot, but I cooked it on high for 4 hours and most of the liquid cooked away. I added more water, and a splash of white wine. This is a delicious, hearty, fall/winter recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
This was really excellent, and my boyfriend's favorite recipe yet. He says it's hard to believe that it has no meat in it, and compares it to a good chili. We used parsley for savory, and quite a bit of pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
This is an ecellent stew! I put everything together and went to class and came home to the comforting taste and texture. I had to add some water to it, but other than that, I found it wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
surprisingly easy and good. Only had beef broth on hand and served it as side dish with steak. Maybe could use a little more liquid but was good as a side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Groton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States