Mushroom Lentil Barley Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
This was great but a little on the salty side for me. I used poultry seasoning instead of sage and added carrots, jalapeno, fresh onion, and garlic and sauteed them in some olive oil before adding to the crockpot. My dried shiitake mushrooms were still a bit tough but added great flavor. Next time I might just add another cup of button mushrooms to save some money. Overall it's a great recipe and I'll definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Your house will smell fantastic while this cooks. Made it on a rainy, chilly day and served with french bread. Needs a little more body" . Next time I am going to try adding a little marsala.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LCSum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fawn Grove, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I loved it -- very hearty, rich, and tasty. I modified it slightly by using Trader Joe's very low-sodium chicken broth (instead of vegetable broth), and using Mrs. Dash instead of just regular salt/pepper when cooking. I still had to salt, very slightly, after the first bite. So if you're using a lower-sodium broth and/or a salt-free substitute, you may want to increase the other herbs/spices to provide a little more flavor. But awesome!!! I ended up getting about 10 servings (1 c each), and made whole wheat rolls to serve with it. My family (a meat-n-potatoes group for sure) enjoyed it -- not quite as much as I did, but they liked it nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I sauteed the mushrooms and onion separately in garlic and olive oil before adding to pan. Instead of savory (I didn't have it) i substituted a pinch of thyme, sage, oregano. Also used homemade chicken broth instead of vegetable. Delicious !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SeraH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
A fantastic, hearty stew that's ready to go by the time the family gets home. Consider serving in a freshly baked bread bowl for added enjoyment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cow

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I followed this recipe but used a real onion and reduced the pepper by one-third. It was really filling and good! If I make it again, I'll definitely pick up some bread (or bake some if I'm really ambitious) to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marbear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This recipe was a huge success for the family that I prepare food for! They couldn't find dried shiitake mushrooms so we substituted dried porcini. I had half of an onion already chopped, so used that instead of the dried flakes and as per other recommendations, used only 1 teaspoon of black pepper. This was a delicious vegan meal that I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
The mushroom, lentils and barley really work great together! I skimped on the shiitake to save money, and added carrots and onions instead for sweetness. I also used ginger instead as the main spice, which turned out really nice. I made this on stovetop (grains cooked first, then veggies added), and it only took about 40 min for everything to be fully cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Absolutely delicious. I made this exactly as directed the first time and it turned out great. Now I'm having fun playing with it, like adding a cup of diced carrots or different kinds of mushrooms. It's a fantastic weeknight meal. Put everything in the crock pot the night before and keep it in the fridge until you switch it on the next morning. What could be better? Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Delicious! I did make some slight changes. Fresh Onions, and fresh button, oyster and shiitake mushrooms. Reduced amount to pepper per other reviews. I cooked on low for 10 hours which seemed to long. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 7u3sday

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States