Mushroom Lentil Barley Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
very bland. saved it with bacon. sorry veggies....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
We are eating vegan/raw and this is the BEST dinner recipe we have found so far. It's currently cooking in the slow cooker as I type.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Severance, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
This was fairly decent. The only changes I made was to chop up an onion and saute it with some garlic in place of the onion flakes. I also followed the suggestions and lowered the pepper. It wasn't very flavorful but it was filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anp13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcata, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
This was a little too earthy for our taste buds. I may try it again but will have to re-work the recipe for our tastes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SoCalMarisa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Added fresh sage and only 1 tsp pepper. Carrots were also a good edition along with chopped ham if available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
This was great but a little on the salty side for me. I used poultry seasoning instead of sage and added carrots, jalapeno, fresh onion, and garlic and sauteed them in some olive oil before adding to the crockpot. My dried shiitake mushrooms were still a bit tough but added great flavor. Next time I might just add another cup of button mushrooms to save some money. Overall it's a great recipe and I'll definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Your house will smell fantastic while this cooks. Made it on a rainy, chilly day and served with french bread. Needs a little more body" . Next time I am going to try adding a little marsala.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LCSum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fawn Grove, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I loved it -- very hearty, rich, and tasty. I modified it slightly by using Trader Joe's very low-sodium chicken broth (instead of vegetable broth), and using Mrs. Dash instead of just regular salt/pepper when cooking. I still had to salt, very slightly, after the first bite. So if you're using a lower-sodium broth and/or a salt-free substitute, you may want to increase the other herbs/spices to provide a little more flavor. But awesome!!! I ended up getting about 10 servings (1 c each), and made whole wheat rolls to serve with it. My family (a meat-n-potatoes group for sure) enjoyed it -- not quite as much as I did, but they liked it nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I sauteed the mushrooms and onion separately in garlic and olive oil before adding to pan. Instead of savory (I didn't have it) i substituted a pinch of thyme, sage, oregano. Also used homemade chicken broth instead of vegetable. Delicious !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SeraH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Beef and Barley Stew

Discover Chef John's delicious recipe for "stick to your ribs" stew.

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States