Mushroom Lentil Barley Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
We really enjoyed the recipe. I did tweak it a bit: I used ~2 cups of sliced fresh shitake mushrooms, and 4 medium portabello mushrooms. I also fried 1/2 a medium yellow onion with 1 Tbsp of minced garlic in lieu of using the onion flakes. Maybe a bit strong on the garlic but that's OK with us. I'll be making it again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by raindogxx

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Paoli, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Hope, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Wow - super delicious and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This stew was absolutely amazing!! However next time I make it I'm definitely going to add more liquid. Might just be the slow cooker that I have but it turned out more like a really great casserole!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Made this tonight and it was delicious, hearty and filling. Didn't have savory so added 1 tsp each of thyme and rosemary. Also, didn't have shiitake mushrooms so used all button mushrooms. Cooked in 3.5 hrs on high. Used 1/2 amount of pepper and didn't add salt (tasted fine without it). I'm looking to add simple, healthy staple meals to my routine and this will be one of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
very bland. saved it with bacon. sorry veggies....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
We are eating vegan/raw and this is the BEST dinner recipe we have found so far. It's currently cooking in the slow cooker as I type.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Severance, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
This was fairly decent. The only changes I made was to chop up an onion and saute it with some garlic in place of the onion flakes. I also followed the suggestions and lowered the pepper. It wasn't very flavorful but it was filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anp13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcata, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
This was a little too earthy for our taste buds. I may try it again but will have to re-work the recipe for our tastes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SoCalMarisa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Added fresh sage and only 1 tsp pepper. Carrots were also a good edition along with chopped ham if available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States