Mushroom Lentil Barley Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
I am amazed by this soup! I used all white button mushrooms, and about a half an onion. Put it on low for 12 hours and really didn't expect much but was really amazed with how tasty this is! I thought it might be bland but it is far from it. Oh and I took most reviewers advice and used half as much pepper. This will be a staple for me now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
Very Tasty. I also used 1/2 amount of salt and also all sliced fresh shitake mushroom. A real keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Did my own combo of spices and as many have said, cut down the pepper to 1t. Used real onion and sautéed it with the garlic first. Did not have barley so tried quinoa and while it was still delicious, it was not the texture this barley stew was meant to be. I would have better off using brown rice. I did find it interesting that the quinoa actually sprouted in the stew. The second batch I made I threw in a couple handfuls of frozen stir fry vegetables that needed used up in the stew for the last hour and that came out great as well. Veggies still had some crunch. Great meaty-like stew that should satisfy any hungry person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I followed reviewer's advise to cut down on pepper, I used one jar of regular mushrooms (all I had), sauteed onion, celery and carrot slices, and 'Not Chikn' vegetarian bullion cubes. It only needed just over 3 hours in my crockpot on high. Outstanding! eating every day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
As is, soup is delicious and makes great leftovers. Next time I make this I am going to completely cut out the button mushrooms and use either solely shiitake mushrooms or a combo of shiitake and oyster mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahlavac

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
After eainting one bowl I threw it out. It absorbed most of the liquid and I had to add more during cooking, other than that I followed recipe exactly. It was not my taste at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
ok but could have been more flavorful. Will add more spices next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess Hoffmann McNeill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
This is a delicious stew! I made it on the stove though because I do not have a slow cooker. I also used "Better than Bullion no chicken base" and added a little mimic cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
This is the first crock pot recipe I've ever made that actually came out well! We're not big fans of lentils, but it's still delicious. (I made a half batch, and added a cup of cream after I turned the heat off to sort of "lighten" the flavour.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morgi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
amazingly delicious - even the kids loved it. I subbed 1/2tsp of Bell's stuffing seasoning for the savory, omitted the bay leaves completely, and added only about 6 grinds of my pepper shaker - much less than called for in the recipe. I added about 1 tsp of salt and cooked on high for 4 hours, then left the cover askew for another hour to cook off some of the liquid. (I had only fresh shiitake mushrooms and forgot to reduce the liquid before adding it!) Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marybee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Bridgewater, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States