Mushroom Lentil Barley Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Threw some of this in the slow cooker over night and couldn't resist but to have some for breakfast, really good. It seems like my lentils pretty much broke down but it added to the thickness and texture of the stew. Instead of using vegetable broth I used chicken stock that I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
I am a vegetarian and my friends are not. I got so many compliments on this receipt. I used king trumpet mushrooms in addition to what was called for and everyone said it was hearty and meaty. Plus, it was so filling and delicious! Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I pick a lot of wild mushrooms and I constantly look for recipes to use them. I just picked 4 pounds of oyster mushrooms and this looked tasty. I didn't have lentils so I used black beans and fresh onion instead of dried flakes. Six hours in the crock pot at medium heat and it was perfect. Everyone loved it. Next time I will use ham broth instead of veggie broth. Use whatever grains and legumes you have. It will still be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
I needed a lentil recipe that I could make in the slow cooker, so I picked this one. It was very easy to make. I used fresh shiitake because that's what I could find. I added about 2 cups of water because I thought there's no way this will be enough liquid. I'm really glad I did! Next time, I will just use more vegetable broth. I've never heard of summer savory spice, so I just used Italian seasoning. Even though we love spicy food, we used less pepper as everyone else suggested. That was a good call, too. I still feel like the stew is missing something, but I'm not sure what. I can't say I love it and I can't wait to make it again, but it's a good staple to have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tsvesti

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
This is the most delicious thing I have ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Novelty, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I cut the pepper as the other reviewers suggested. I will add more salt next time as I just did about 1 tsp this time around. I also browned some beef and let it slow cook in the stew to increase the protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
This is a really nice, hearty and healthy recipe. I reduced the pepper to 1 tsp like many other people recommended however it was still pretty bold (I'm glad I read the review, I don't know how anyone could use 2 tsp and enjoy it). I think if I make it again I'll reduce it to 1/2 a tsp of pepper. I also think it could use a vegetable to freshen it up a little, maybe some frozen corn would do the trick. When I served it I topped it off with a little grated parmesan and it was fabulous. This is perfect for broke students like myself considering all of the ingredients are cheap and don't expire too quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Delicious, healthy and easy! Even my kids enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coconutheather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
This is a fantastic starting point for a recipe!! I've been making this stew for a couple of years now and I absolutely adore it; it's the perfect vegan comfort food (if you use vegan broth.) I used fresh brown mushrooms, a fresh onion, and thyme instead of the savory and basil...and of course, freshly ground black pepper because it's my favorite (and yes, like so many of the reviews have mentioned, I use about 1/4-1/2 the pepper)...and yum. It just gets better with time, too! I highly recommend this soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruthie
Home Town: Lehi, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I absolutely love this recipe. I've made it many times and shared the recipe with my Mom. I made it for a party and everyone like it. The only difficulty is finding the right kind of summer savory. At first I used ground summer savory because that's all I could find, but it is much better with the leaves (not the grounds). The savory really makes the dish; I would not recommend substituting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Alhambra, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States