Mushroom Lentil Barley Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I opted to make this recipe on the stove. Used dried chanterelles a co-worker gave to me, along with fresh button mushrooms and baby portabellas. Chicken broth and my favorite seasonings rather than the savory gave it a familiar flavor profile that we enjoy. Next time, if we have wine on hand, I'll add a 1/4 cup to deepen the flavors. Loved the Unami flavor that comes from the rich mushroom broth. Also used fresh carrots, celery, and onion as my base. This soup got better with each day. I did not use the amount of pepper suggested; instead, eyeballed it by just shaking our course ground pepper into the pot. Even on the stovetop, this was a quick recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I give this recipe 5 stars for easy of preparation. It literally took five minutes to put together. My husband and I both agreed that this soup deserves a 3 1/2 stars for flavor. It was better than ok, but not amazing. My semi-picky 2 year old also liked the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
I made this on the stove top. It turned out amazingly "buttery" without any butter, which we are still perplexed about. It did seem a little bit bland so I added 2 teaspoons of DILL to the left-overs. I am hoping that this will end up tasting more like a vegan Hungarian-mushroom soup. Great recipe overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamieq
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Excellent. Very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainview, New York, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
I also thought this recipe was too bland. It is really missing some acid..either lemon juice, vinegar or hot sauce. It was better when I added acid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Bland. Added extra spices and it was still bland! Will never make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
I am amazed by this soup! I used all white button mushrooms, and about a half an onion. Put it on low for 12 hours and really didn't expect much but was really amazed with how tasty this is! I thought it might be bland but it is far from it. Oh and I took most reviewers advice and used half as much pepper. This will be a staple for me now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
Very Tasty. I also used 1/2 amount of salt and also all sliced fresh shitake mushroom. A real keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Did my own combo of spices and as many have said, cut down the pepper to 1t. Used real onion and sautéed it with the garlic first. Did not have barley so tried quinoa and while it was still delicious, it was not the texture this barley stew was meant to be. I would have better off using brown rice. I did find it interesting that the quinoa actually sprouted in the stew. The second batch I made I threw in a couple handfuls of frozen stir fry vegetables that needed used up in the stew for the last hour and that came out great as well. Veggies still had some crunch. Great meaty-like stew that should satisfy any hungry person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I followed reviewer's advise to cut down on pepper, I used one jar of regular mushrooms (all I had), sauteed onion, celery and carrot slices, and 'Not Chikn' vegetarian bullion cubes. It only needed just over 3 hours in my crockpot on high. Outstanding! eating every day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lehttp://allntil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States