Mushroom Lentil Barley Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
This recipe tastes much better than it looks! It's not for the faint of heart, the recipe makes a LOT. Excellent flavor and an excellent way to eat lentils!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
Way too much black pepper. I measured everything to a T; Maybe cut the pepper in half next time, because other than that it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
Lovely on a cold winter's night. Wonderful aroma. I was a bit too timid with the pepper after reading the other reviews; I would recommend at least a teaspoon. I enjoyed the rich texture and earthy taste, but I prefer a more complex flavor, so I plan to tweak the recipe a bit. I suspect a splash of sherry would do nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
This is an excellent and hearty stew that meat lovers will also love! We did it on the stovetop and sauteed all the mushrooms first (in butter, not vege-friendly). Any combination of spices will suit this: thyme, lots of pepper, oregano, cumin, basil, whatever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
This recipe is definitely a keeper, although (as others said) there is too much pepper. I actually enjoy that much heat in many recipes, but in this recipe it dominates too much over the more subtle flavors. I will cut in half at least next time, and maybe a quarter for my toddlers' sake. A really neat thing about this recipe is that most of the ingredients are dry or easily replaced with dry ingredients, so it is easy to pre-mix on the weekend, store in a Ziploc bag on a shelf, and then throw in a crockpot with 2 quarts of water in the morning before work any day of the week - or even a month later, if you use an oxygen-reducing packet. I replaced broth with boullion and garlic with garlic powder. Button mushrooms were the only fresh ingredient we used, and I since found a way to order freeze-dried mushrooms - so next time I will be using entirely dry ingredients and then will "just add water".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
I made this as a side dish instead of stew. I cut down on the broth. I used portabello and button mushrooms. Sauted some sweet potato cubes with onion, garlic, mushrooms, and spices and added to cooked barley and lentils just before serving. Also threw in some dried goji berries with simmering barley/lentils. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
I found this a bit on the bland side, but otherwise it was good. Also very nutritious, it was perfect for me after a workout, when I have trouble eating heavier foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
I cut back on the pepper,used a chunked onion,and added 1 tbls of goya sofrito....DELECIOUS!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KECIA123

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
This was a very harty and filling soup. It had all my favorites! Cheap and extra easy! Great for busy winter days, just stick everything in and come home to dinner ready to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evillhog

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fortuna, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
Sorry, but I did not like it at all...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lehttp://allntil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States