Mushroom Lentil Barley Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Fantastic. No savoury so used sage and rosemary. Added some celery towards the end for a bit of crunch. have to be very careful with salt content of stock so as not to over season
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
this was great. I couldnt find shiitake so i used extra button mushrooms. I also had no savory so i subbed sage and thyme. I used fresh onion and added a bit of chopped carrot and chopped spinach. turned out delicious !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellyanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aylmer, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
I used fresh onions and garlic, and I didn't have savory, and I cut back a bit on the pepper, as suggested. This soup had lots of good flavors, but it was missing something. I think some fresh rosemary may have done the trick. My husband said "It needs beef." Hmmm...I don't know if that's the answer. I think more variety of vegetables would have been good. Maybe some root vegetables, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michalcrum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I give this one five stars for both being healthy and for taste. I added a carrot to the mix as well. This had become my new favorite soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
Great recipe w/ a little help...add some chopped carrot, celery and fresh onion. It will probably need a little more broth added to it, as it was slightly too thick. I served with a nice whole grain bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
So good and, even better, so easy! Made a half-batch since there's only two of us, but will definitely make a full batch next time: husband ate it all in one night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Surprisingly good! I only added 1/2 tsp pepper; 2 tsp sounded like way too much! We had warm dinner rolls to go with it. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woods Cross, Utah, USA
Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Even 1 tsp pepper is far too much. I will make it again because I like the textures, and I am sure that the onion, garlic, and veg broth will be enough flavor. Next time I will use 1/2 or 1/4 tsp ground pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Stoney Creek, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
This was delicious. I reduced the pepper to 1 1/2 teaspoons and found that it was still too peppery, so next time I'll try just 1 teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
This recipe was incredible. My daughter who has never had lentils or barley loved it. Easy to put together and smells wonderful while cooking. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Canandaigua, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States