Mushroom Lentil Barley Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I made this tonight for a group of friends. All wanted the recipe. I doubled the recipe but did not double the spices. I used thyme in place of summer savory and chicken broth instead of vegetable broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Casella Brinkley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This was really good. I was skeptical at first because it didn't look to appetizing. I didn't have any shitake mushrooms so I used a good sized portabella that I sliced up in addition to the slice button mushrooms. I also had no summer savory - recipe was still tasty without it! I wasn't sure which type of lentils to use since it wasn't specified - I ended up going with red lentils so that the stew would be kind of creamy once they cooked down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by maria
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Very good! Filling and "meaty" without any meat. I made a couple modifications: as others have done, I sautéed a minced onion (along with the garlic) instead of using dried onion; I happened to have a good amount of fresh shiitakes from our CSA, so I used those instead of white mushrooms; I used 1 qt chicken broth and 1 qt veggie because that's what I had on hand; we grow summer savory so I used two good-sized fresh sprigs. I also used freshly-ground pepper and just eyeballed the amount. I added about a teaspoon of salt before cooking, but ended up needing to add a little more when serving. That's a matter of preference, though. It was a satisfying, hearty meal with a chunk of whole-grain bread, but this is a very "brown" dish so ideally I'd have a salad or some greens on the side to balance it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This was delicious and incredibly easy to cook. It holds up well for leftover lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Very easy to put together and it came out tasty. I used all baby portabella mushrooms and next time I will cut the black pepper in half. It was a tad hot for my liking but it was still very good. I cooked it on low for 11 hours. This is a keeper for my slow cooker recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Fantastic. No savoury so used sage and rosemary. Added some celery towards the end for a bit of crunch. have to be very careful with salt content of stock so as not to over season
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
this was great. I couldnt find shiitake so i used extra button mushrooms. I also had no savory so i subbed sage and thyme. I used fresh onion and added a bit of chopped carrot and chopped spinach. turned out delicious !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellyanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aylmer, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
I used fresh onions and garlic, and I didn't have savory, and I cut back a bit on the pepper, as suggested. This soup had lots of good flavors, but it was missing something. I think some fresh rosemary may have done the trick. My husband said "It needs beef." Hmmm...I don't know if that's the answer. I think more variety of vegetables would have been good. Maybe some root vegetables, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michalcrum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I give this one five stars for both being healthy and for taste. I added a carrot to the mix as well. This had become my new favorite soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
Great recipe w/ a little help...add some chopped carrot, celery and fresh onion. It will probably need a little more broth added to it, as it was slightly too thick. I served with a nice whole grain bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Beef and Barley Stew

Discover Chef John's delicious recipe for "stick to your ribs" stew.

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States