Mushroom Lentil Barley Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
So good and, even better, so easy! Made a half-batch since there's only two of us, but will definitely make a full batch next time: husband ate it all in one night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Surprisingly good! I only added 1/2 tsp pepper; 2 tsp sounded like way too much! We had warm dinner rolls to go with it. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woods Cross, Utah, USA
Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Even 1 tsp pepper is far too much. I will make it again because I like the textures, and I am sure that the onion, garlic, and veg broth will be enough flavor. Next time I will use 1/2 or 1/4 tsp ground pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Stoney Creek, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
This was delicious. I reduced the pepper to 1 1/2 teaspoons and found that it was still too peppery, so next time I'll try just 1 teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
This recipe was incredible. My daughter who has never had lentils or barley loved it. Easy to put together and smells wonderful while cooking. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Canandaigua, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This has many good reviews, so maybe this recipe is just not to my taste... I made a whole pot, had a few bites, and decided that this was just not for me. I love muchrooms, but something about this is just too mushroom-y and earthy. And I agree with other reviewers - way too much pepper! I would recommend cutting the black pepper in half. Most of the broth boiled off or was absorbed by the barley and lentils, leaving a very thick, hearty stew. But this is not for me - I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
I made this recipe last week and my family enjoyed it. I presoaked the lentils for a couple of hours. I also added two thinly sliced carrots. The next time I might use dried porcinis instead of shitakes since they stayed a bit rubbery even after hours of cooking. Definitely use the savory since it makes the dish. Also, I needed the longer cooking time even with presoaking the lentils and using hot broth. I have small children so I didn't use that much pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Made this due to need for lower cholesterol recipes. Only change was to not use so much pepper. Result: Girlfriend found it to be too 'earthy' tasting - my reaction was akin to eating too much baked beans! Don't think we'll be doing it again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
After 12 hours in the crockpot, the barley had exploded into mush and the lentils were still a little hard. The flavor was ok, but could still use a little punch. I did cut down on the pepper, based on previous reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
This is excellent! I made just a few minor alterations--I used all button mushrooms, as I had no shiitakes on hand. I also used one whole chopped onion instead of dried onion flakes, and cut the pepper in half. Next time I will add a little more broth, as the stew turned out really thick due to most of the liquid being absorbed. I will definitely make this again! Very hearty and very healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grandville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Colchester, Essex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lehttp://allntil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States