Mushroom Lentil Barley Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Meh. Not what I was expecting. Found it rather lacking in flavor, to be honest. Was definitely edible and sriracha added to it made it much better, but I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mc Coy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
The easiest slow cooker recipe every made (twice). I didn't have summer savory, used oregano & thyme. The second time I made this stew I used frozen cropped spinach, added it within the last 2 hours of cooking time. 4 hours on high will cook barley perfectly. Perfect for my vegan mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ada

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LACYKM
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
5 stars for ease of preparation and simple ingredients. I love that this can be made using only one fresh ingredient. I also like that this can be used as a base recipe. I didn't have savory, so I doubled the basil. Added some white wine and rosemary and left out the bay leaves. That said, it was a little bland, but I think more seasoning and some Parmesan on top could make a big difference. I imagine I'll make it again with a few tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Very hearty. You won't miss the meat at all. I also cut way back on the pepper, adding just a couple of grinds before cooking and a little more when serving. I also needed to add more water at the end. It gets very sticky and thick- not very appetizing as a leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
DELICIOUS!!! Hearty and filling. My daughter who doesn't like mushrooms loved it (until I told her it had mushrooms). I made this exactly as directed in the recipe except for 1 tsp. black pepper and I didn't have dried shiitake mushrooms, so I used 4 oz. fresh shiitake mushrooms instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Pretty good hearty winter stew. My only complaint is that it was a little bland. Maybe adding some wine or lemon or something would spice it up. I served it topped with parmesan, which helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christie Robertson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I've made this two times, once with and once without beef. Both times it was very good even though it doesn't look very appealing! This is a very simple stew that you can throw in the crock pot and walk away from until it is ready to eat. I use Italian Seasoning in place of summer savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carbondale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Bland. Maybe it will taste better in a couple days. This dish reminded me on why I like meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I wasn't able to find "summer savory" and don't know what is in it, so my dish came out a little on the bland side with exception of the black pepper. I think I will use less black pepper next time, as it's such a sharp taste... and I'll try to find some summer savory!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
amazingly easy and tasty. like nothing else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Beef and Barley Stew

Discover Chef John's delicious recipe for "stick to your ribs" stew.

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States