Mushroom Lentil Barley Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Darn. I read some of the reviews that said there was too much pepper, but it took a while between reading the reviews and my actually getting around to making the soup. By then I'd forgotten. The other reviews were definitely right. It'll be better the next time (and I'll change my review then). However, I was happy to find that my soup was finished in 6 hours instead of the 10-12 in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
This recipe was not to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rberkee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Tried this soup yesterday, good earthy taste. Too much pepper for my liking and I actually like a lot of pepper. Even with the suggested reduction to 1 tsp, it was still too much. Maybe next time I'll reduce it to 1/2 tsp. It was slightly bland, and I was eating it I was wondering what I could add to it to give it more flavor. I didn't have summer savory and went with the italian seasoning as advised by a few others. I give it 4 stars because it's a good BASE soup and very simple to make. Definitely a keeper with a few additions. I enjoy recipes that I can tweak
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
This was a hearty meal with garlic bread on the side and it certaily stuck to our ribs however the flavor was missing and I used beef broth instead of vegetable and an extra shot of spices after reading reviews. Not bad but not a keeper for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ogdensburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
this was not good, all ingredients should go well together but flavour was not appealing to me. I will not make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Kind of just "there." We prefer more zip in our food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
It smelled good, but was very mushroomy (and I LOVE mushrooms). It was also very thick. We only ate it for one meal and left it in the fridge. I'm not sure what I would suggest to make it better though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
This came out very bland.....all we could taste was the pepper flavor. We ended up dumping it out, which was frustrating because the dried mushrooms were very expensive. Definitely needs something else to pump up the flavor. And the pepper should be cut in half!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I thought this was great! I did what some of the other reviewers did. I had to make substitutions for the ingredients I didn't have. I used 1/2 onion, other types of mushrooms, and added rosemary, thyme, and sage. I also added carrots and at the end added spinach as did some other of the reviewers. Really happy how it turned out! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Would definitely make this again. I too used just 1 tsp of black pepper and used a real onion instead of flakes, but otherwise followed the recipe. 12 hours on low and everything was cooked perfectly. House smelled great. Had to look a little for the savory, but I found it and it was something new that I can enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Beef and Barley Stew

Discover Chef John's delicious recipe for "stick to your ribs" stew.

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States