Mushroom Lentil Barley Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
It smelled good, but was very mushroomy (and I LOVE mushrooms). It was also very thick. We only ate it for one meal and left it in the fridge. I'm not sure what I would suggest to make it better though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
This came out very bland.....all we could taste was the pepper flavor. We ended up dumping it out, which was frustrating because the dried mushrooms were very expensive. Definitely needs something else to pump up the flavor. And the pepper should be cut in half!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I thought this was great! I did what some of the other reviewers did. I had to make substitutions for the ingredients I didn't have. I used 1/2 onion, other types of mushrooms, and added rosemary, thyme, and sage. I also added carrots and at the end added spinach as did some other of the reviewers. Really happy how it turned out! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Would definitely make this again. I too used just 1 tsp of black pepper and used a real onion instead of flakes, but otherwise followed the recipe. 12 hours on low and everything was cooked perfectly. House smelled great. Had to look a little for the savory, but I found it and it was something new that I can enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Meh. Not what I was expecting. Found it rather lacking in flavor, to be honest. Was definitely edible and sriracha added to it made it much better, but I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MCBARTKO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
The easiest slow cooker recipe every made (twice). I didn't have summer savory, used oregano & thyme. The second time I made this stew I used frozen cropped spinach, added it within the last 2 hours of cooking time. 4 hours on high will cook barley perfectly. Perfect for my vegan mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ada

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LACYKM
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
5 stars for ease of preparation and simple ingredients. I love that this can be made using only one fresh ingredient. I also like that this can be used as a base recipe. I didn't have savory, so I doubled the basil. Added some white wine and rosemary and left out the bay leaves. That said, it was a little bland, but I think more seasoning and some Parmesan on top could make a big difference. I imagine I'll make it again with a few tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Very hearty. You won't miss the meat at all. I also cut way back on the pepper, adding just a couple of grinds before cooking and a little more when serving. I also needed to add more water at the end. It gets very sticky and thick- not very appetizing as a leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
DELICIOUS!!! Hearty and filling. My daughter who doesn't like mushrooms loved it (until I told her it had mushrooms). I made this exactly as directed in the recipe except for 1 tsp. black pepper and I didn't have dried shiitake mushrooms, so I used 4 oz. fresh shiitake mushrooms instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Pretty good hearty winter stew. My only complaint is that it was a little bland. Maybe adding some wine or lemon or something would spice it up. I served it topped with parmesan, which helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christie Robertson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States