Mushroom Lentil Barley Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Meh. Not what I was expecting. Found it rather lacking in flavor, to be honest. Was definitely edible and sriracha added to it made it much better, but I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MCBARTKO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
The easiest slow cooker recipe every made (twice). I didn't have summer savory, used oregano & thyme. The second time I made this stew I used frozen cropped spinach, added it within the last 2 hours of cooking time. 4 hours on high will cook barley perfectly. Perfect for my vegan mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ada

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LACYKM
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
5 stars for ease of preparation and simple ingredients. I love that this can be made using only one fresh ingredient. I also like that this can be used as a base recipe. I didn't have savory, so I doubled the basil. Added some white wine and rosemary and left out the bay leaves. That said, it was a little bland, but I think more seasoning and some Parmesan on top could make a big difference. I imagine I'll make it again with a few tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Very hearty. You won't miss the meat at all. I also cut way back on the pepper, adding just a couple of grinds before cooking and a little more when serving. I also needed to add more water at the end. It gets very sticky and thick- not very appetizing as a leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
DELICIOUS!!! Hearty and filling. My daughter who doesn't like mushrooms loved it (until I told her it had mushrooms). I made this exactly as directed in the recipe except for 1 tsp. black pepper and I didn't have dried shiitake mushrooms, so I used 4 oz. fresh shiitake mushrooms instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Pretty good hearty winter stew. My only complaint is that it was a little bland. Maybe adding some wine or lemon or something would spice it up. I served it topped with parmesan, which helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I've made this two times, once with and once without beef. Both times it was very good even though it doesn't look very appealing! This is a very simple stew that you can throw in the crock pot and walk away from until it is ready to eat. I use Italian Seasoning in place of summer savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carbondale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Bland. Maybe it will taste better in a couple days. This dish reminded me on why I like meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I wasn't able to find "summer savory" and don't know what is in it, so my dish came out a little on the bland side with exception of the black pepper. I think I will use less black pepper next time, as it's such a sharp taste... and I'll try to find some summer savory!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
amazingly easy and tasty. like nothing else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lehttp://allntil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States