Mushroom Lentil Barley Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
This recipe was easy enough to make, and smelled good. When I tasted it I found it rather bland so I added Worcestershire sauce and paprika. I also had to add a good bit more broth as it all absorbed. I did the 10 hour low heat setting on my crock pot, as that seemed like a good idea at the time. It was fine hot, very hearty and filling though still a little bland. I like to use my crockpot on weekends to make dinner on Sunday and eat the leftovers for lunch the rest of the week. Unfortunately I didn't realize that this became unappetizing gelatinous once it cooled down. I tried eating it but the texture was gluey. So to summarize it was good, if bland while hot but make sure you are going to eat it all that night as it doesn't store well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Tasted how it looks...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Delicious. What a huge hit this soup was in my house. I didn't have Savory, so subbed Herbs de Provence and dried Parsley. I have tried hundreds of recipes from this website, and this one ranks in the top 10 easily!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Cut back on pepper like others. Didn't have time for slow cooker so I simmered on stove for a while. Wonderful flavor, and healthy. Will make again. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Bland - at best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Delicious! It is so easy, inexpensive, and healthy!! I cut the black pepper to 1 tsp, and it had the perfect amount of spice. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lehighton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Very good! I added matchstick carrots, used fresh onion and Italian seasoning. I don't know what summer savory is. Also used 2 boxes of chicken broth in lieu of vegetable broth. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This would get 5 stars except for, as others pointed out, way too much pepper. I just put a small sprinkle on top and that is plenty. Also I don't add salt (only at the end if needed), may be needed if you use homemade sodium-free broth, but I use store bought and even with very low sodium broth (6% per cup), it is plenty salty for my taste. Also I prefer the taste of red lentils. With my 6 qt. crock pot I can fit more veggies so I add whatever I have around (carrots, celery, peppers, etc.) can fill it almost to the top although it does expand very slightly as the lentils/barley cook. This is the perfect recipe for a winter day when sick since it's so so easy to make, and can use up extra veggies lying around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Very good soup! I substituted homemade mushroom stock in place of the vegetable broth, portabella mushrooms because those are the only kind my husband will eat, and a chopped fresh onion for the flakes. I used 1/2 the pepper based on other reviews and it was just right. Even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Very tasty and easy to make! I fixed it with cornbread! I used Thyme instead of the Savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lehttp://allntil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States