Mushroom Lentil Barley Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Did not enjoy this recipe at all. Will not be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This recipe was great. I like others, made some changes: I replaced the onion flakes with 1 chopped white onion and the summer savory with italian seasoning. I also reduced the pepper to 1.5 tsp. I added frozen peas, chopped carrots, a few splashes of Worcestershire sauce and one bottle of beer (I used Anchor Steam Christmas Ale because that is what I had). The results were delicious and this was very filling and hearty. I am glad I added a lot of extra liquid -- otherwise it would be way too thick. I will definitely make it this way again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I followed the recipe except for halving the pepper per other reviews. I was very disappointed. It was extremely brothy, more of a soup than a stew. It was also surprisingly bland. Could taste the pepper, but nothing else. I wound up dumping a bunch of seasoned salt in it to perk it up, but even so, it is still pretty boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
E-A-S-Y and flexible. I've made this without the driec shiitake (used fresh) and fresh onion instead of dried flakes and it's come out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Very hearty and filling. :) Good flavor. I used 1/2 the amount of black pepper, and might even cut it down a bit more. The summer savory I used ended up leaving bits of woody stems behind. I also used a fresh onion and couldn't find the dried shitake, so I used all fresh mushrooms (a combination of white button and portabellas). Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Loved this! It's very hearty and delicious. I made the mistake of adding too much barley so it got too thick but other than that, I would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Very good flavor. Watch how long it cooks - barley gets mushy fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I liked this recipe! It makes a lot, so for just two it was a bit much, but luckily it freezes well. Definitely cut the pepper! Make sure to use a fresh onion, as well. You can sautee the onions and mushrooms beforehand to get some more flavor out of them. I also added extra mushrooms, because I love them so much! Very hearty, healthy, and rich. Will for sure be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Excellent! I'm not vegetarian but really enjoyed this recipe. Per other reviewer's suggestions, I only used about 3/4 t. of black pepper and that was perfect. I also added a bit of sherry for flavor. Will definitely made this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mpls_Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
My Wife and I really enjoyed this after only minor customization, and it is SO easy to make! It has really nice flavors and my wife was very pleasantly surprised to see me attempt something that was vegetarian. I didn't even find myself wishing there was meat in it! Although I didn't enjoy the leftovers so much (slightly gummy texture), the first feed with some garlic bread went down famously! I will definitely be making this again. Here are some minor adjustments that we made: Used 1 portabella mushroom cap instead of the shitake (availability issue), 1 whole white onion in place of dried flakes, Upped the amount of garlic to 4 cloves (will increase this even more next time as we are garlic lovers), and reduced the amount of black pepper to 1 teaspoon (although next time I will use even less as we still found that much black pepper to be a bit overpowering). Only had to cook on high for 4 hours and it was ready!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States