Mushroom Lentil Barley Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I'm trying to do more veggie dishes this year (limit our environmental impact of all the meat production) and have to say that this is nice and hearty so you don't miss the meat! Even my carnivore husband declared that it was really good. Helps that we both love mushrooms :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
so easy and unbelieveably good. My husband loved it from the minute he smelled it coming in the door from work. definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I made this as is except I couldn't find dried shitake mushrooms, so I used dried porcini. It was delicious. I agree that the pepper is a little overwhelming but we like spicy, so still enjoyed it. I would cut the pepper in half next time. Definitely a do-over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Ware De Antonio

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Towson, Maryland, USA
Living In: Timonium, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Too much pepper! I tried to add more broth more barley and lentils still to much pepper. Going to try lemon juice and a little sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grandmacupcake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Swansea, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This was delicious. I made it with chicken stock and crimini mushrooms, just a few turns of the pepper grinder, and added a sauteed onion as some others had suggested. My husband and I enjoyed it with some cheese scones. Next time I would try adding some carrots and celery. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
For a totally vegetable dish this was quite hearty and satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Absolutely delicious! And very forgiving; I have made it with wheat berries instead of barley, and without shiitake mushrooms; it still turns out absolutely delicious. Even my 2 year old loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I found it to be bland. I think that the base is good, but I recommend you play around with the seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Shittake too expensive so more of the button, also used fresh garlic and onion, no savory so used Italian seasoning in it's place as per the suggestions of previous reviewers along with the basil. Chicken broth instead of veg broth and some baby carrots, yummy!! And yes, way less fresh ground pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This is a perfect vegetarian stew! I have made it a couple times now and am happy with it exactly as written. You can also vary it a bit, use different spices, I cut down the broth by half and just add water for the rest as I don't like it too salty. I also never have onion flakes in the house so I just use an onion, all in all this is one of my favorite slow cooker recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States