Mushroom Lentil Barley Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I like barley, mushrooms, and lentils, but I did not like this stew. I thought the herbs and mushrooms did not blend well, and it ended up smelling powerful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Good hearty recipe for a cold winter day. Like others have said, way too much pepper in the original recipe- use half or less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
My vegetarian husband is giving this 4 stars. I would give it three. I thought it was bland. I didn't have summer savory but otherwise the only other thing I changed was 1 whole fresh onion instead of the flakes. Good texture, just not much flavor. If the kids weren't eating it, I would have added some heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
OMG!! This is delicious: Easy to prepare; nutritious; inexpensive...what a great meal on a cold winter night. Will cook it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This was delicious just as it was written! The black pepper gave it a kick. It was perfect for my family - I might cut back on the pepper if I were bringing the dish to a get together with folks who prefer a milder taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I'm trying to do more veggie dishes this year (limit our environmental impact of all the meat production) and have to say that this is nice and hearty so you don't miss the meat! Even my carnivore husband declared that it was really good. Helps that we both love mushrooms :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
so easy and unbelieveably good. My husband loved it from the minute he smelled it coming in the door from work. definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I made this as is except I couldn't find dried shitake mushrooms, so I used dried porcini. It was delicious. I agree that the pepper is a little overwhelming but we like spicy, so still enjoyed it. I would cut the pepper in half next time. Definitely a do-over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oceankath

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Towson, Maryland, USA
Living In: Timonium, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Too much pepper! I tried to add more broth more barley and lentils still to much pepper. Going to try lemon juice and a little sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grandmacupcake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Swansea, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This was delicious. I made it with chicken stock and crimini mushrooms, just a few turns of the pepper grinder, and added a sauteed onion as some others had suggested. My husband and I enjoyed it with some cheese scones. Next time I would try adding some carrots and celery. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lehttp://allntil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States