Mushroom Lentil Barley Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Did my own combo of spices and as many have said, cut down the pepper to 1t. Used real onion and sautéed it with the garlic first. Did not have barley so tried quinoa and while it was still delicious, it was not the texture this barley stew was meant to be. I would have better off using brown rice. I did find it interesting that the quinoa actually sprouted in the stew. The second batch I made I threw in a couple handfuls of frozen stir fry vegetables that needed used up in the stew for the last hour and that came out great as well. Veggies still had some crunch. Great meaty-like stew that should satisfy any hungry person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I followed reviewer's advise to cut down on pepper, I used one jar of regular mushrooms (all I had), sauteed onion, celery and carrot slices, and 'Not Chikn' vegetarian bullion cubes. It only needed just over 3 hours in my crockpot on high. Outstanding! eating every day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
As is, soup is delicious and makes great leftovers. Next time I make this I am going to completely cut out the button mushrooms and use either solely shiitake mushrooms or a combo of shiitake and oyster mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahlavac

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
After eainting one bowl I threw it out. It absorbed most of the liquid and I had to add more during cooking, other than that I followed recipe exactly. It was not my taste at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
ok but could have been more flavorful. Will add more spices next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess Hoffmann McNeill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
This is a delicious stew! I made it on the stove though because I do not have a slow cooker. I also used "Better than Bullion no chicken base" and added a little mimic cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
This is the first crock pot recipe I've ever made that actually came out well! We're not big fans of lentils, but it's still delicious. (I made a half batch, and added a cup of cream after I turned the heat off to sort of "lighten" the flavour.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morgi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
amazingly delicious - even the kids loved it. I subbed 1/2tsp of Bell's stuffing seasoning for the savory, omitted the bay leaves completely, and added only about 6 grinds of my pepper shaker - much less than called for in the recipe. I added about 1 tsp of salt and cooked on high for 4 hours, then left the cover askew for another hour to cook off some of the liquid. (I had only fresh shiitake mushrooms and forgot to reduce the liquid before adding it!) Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marybee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Bridgewater, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
We really enjoyed the recipe. I did tweak it a bit: I used ~2 cups of sliced fresh shitake mushrooms, and 4 medium portabello mushrooms. I also fried 1/2 a medium yellow onion with 1 Tbsp of minced garlic in lieu of using the onion flakes. Maybe a bit strong on the garlic but that's OK with us. I'll be making it again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by raindogxx

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Paoli, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Hope, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Wow - super delicious and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States