Mushroom Lentil Barley Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
This is a really nice, hearty and healthy recipe. I reduced the pepper to 1 tsp like many other people recommended however it was still pretty bold (I'm glad I read the review, I don't know how anyone could use 2 tsp and enjoy it). I think if I make it again I'll reduce it to 1/2 a tsp of pepper. I also think it could use a vegetable to freshen it up a little, maybe some frozen corn would do the trick. When I served it I topped it off with a little grated parmesan and it was fabulous. This is perfect for broke students like myself considering all of the ingredients are cheap and don't expire too quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Delicious, healthy and easy! Even my kids enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coconutheather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
This is a fantastic starting point for a recipe!! I've been making this stew for a couple of years now and I absolutely adore it; it's the perfect vegan comfort food (if you use vegan broth.) I used fresh brown mushrooms, a fresh onion, and thyme instead of the savory and basil...and of course, freshly ground black pepper because it's my favorite (and yes, like so many of the reviews have mentioned, I use about 1/4-1/2 the pepper)...and yum. It just gets better with time, too! I highly recommend this soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruthie
Home Town: Lehi, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I absolutely love this recipe. I've made it many times and shared the recipe with my Mom. I made it for a party and everyone like it. The only difficulty is finding the right kind of summer savory. At first I used ground summer savory because that's all I could find, but it is much better with the leaves (not the grounds). The savory really makes the dish; I would not recommend substituting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Alhambra, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I opted to make this recipe on the stove. Used dried chanterelles a co-worker gave to me, along with fresh button mushrooms and baby portabellas. Chicken broth and my favorite seasonings rather than the savory gave it a familiar flavor profile that we enjoy. Next time, if we have wine on hand, I'll add a 1/4 cup to deepen the flavors. Loved the Unami flavor that comes from the rich mushroom broth. Also used fresh carrots, celery, and onion as my base. This soup got better with each day. I did not use the amount of pepper suggested; instead, eyeballed it by just shaking our course ground pepper into the pot. Even on the stovetop, this was a quick recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I give this recipe 5 stars for easy of preparation. It literally took five minutes to put together. My husband and I both agreed that this soup deserves a 3 1/2 stars for flavor. It was better than ok, but not amazing. My semi-picky 2 year old also liked the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
I made this on the stove top. It turned out amazingly "buttery" without any butter, which we are still perplexed about. It did seem a little bit bland so I added 2 teaspoons of DILL to the left-overs. I am hoping that this will end up tasting more like a vegan Hungarian-mushroom soup. Great recipe overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamieq
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Excellent. Very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainview, New York, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
I also thought this recipe was too bland. It is really missing some acid..either lemon juice, vinegar or hot sauce. It was better when I added acid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Bland. Added extra spices and it was still bland! Will never make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States