Mushroom Lentil Barley Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Made this due to need for lower cholesterol recipes. Only change was to not use so much pepper. Result: Girlfriend found it to be too 'earthy' tasting - my reaction was akin to eating too much baked beans! Don't think we'll be doing it again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
After 12 hours in the crockpot, the barley had exploded into mush and the lentils were still a little hard. The flavor was ok, but could still use a little punch. I did cut down on the pepper, based on previous reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
This is excellent! I made just a few minor alterations--I used all button mushrooms, as I had no shiitakes on hand. I also used one whole chopped onion instead of dried onion flakes, and cut the pepper in half. Next time I will add a little more broth, as the stew turned out really thick due to most of the liquid being absorbed. I will definitely make this again! Very hearty and very healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grandville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Colchester, Essex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
This recipe tastes much better than it looks! It's not for the faint of heart, the recipe makes a LOT. Excellent flavor and an excellent way to eat lentils!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
Way too much black pepper. I measured everything to a T; Maybe cut the pepper in half next time, because other than that it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
Lovely on a cold winter's night. Wonderful aroma. I was a bit too timid with the pepper after reading the other reviews; I would recommend at least a teaspoon. I enjoyed the rich texture and earthy taste, but I prefer a more complex flavor, so I plan to tweak the recipe a bit. I suspect a splash of sherry would do nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
This is an excellent and hearty stew that meat lovers will also love! We did it on the stovetop and sauteed all the mushrooms first (in butter, not vege-friendly). Any combination of spices will suit this: thyme, lots of pepper, oregano, cumin, basil, whatever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
This recipe is definitely a keeper, although (as others said) there is too much pepper. I actually enjoy that much heat in many recipes, but in this recipe it dominates too much over the more subtle flavors. I will cut in half at least next time, and maybe a quarter for my toddlers' sake. A really neat thing about this recipe is that most of the ingredients are dry or easily replaced with dry ingredients, so it is easy to pre-mix on the weekend, store in a Ziploc bag on a shelf, and then throw in a crockpot with 2 quarts of water in the morning before work any day of the week - or even a month later, if you use an oxygen-reducing packet. I replaced broth with boullion and garlic with garlic powder. Button mushrooms were the only fresh ingredient we used, and I since found a way to order freeze-dried mushrooms - so next time I will be using entirely dry ingredients and then will "just add water".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
I made this as a side dish instead of stew. I cut down on the broth. I used portabello and button mushrooms. Sauted some sweet potato cubes with onion, garlic, mushrooms, and spices and added to cooked barley and lentils just before serving. Also threw in some dried goji berries with simmering barley/lentils. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
I found this a bit on the bland side, but otherwise it was good. Also very nutritious, it was perfect for me after a workout, when I have trouble eating heavier foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States