Mushroom Lentil Barley Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Very Good! The word is "Earthy". I used about a small, chopped onion instead of the flakes. I didn't have savory so used thyme and oregano (those aren't really a substitute but I thought they would taste good in this). I also added chopped kale, red bell peppers, tomatoes and serrano hot peppers at the end. My only complaint is that I didn't like the texture. It was kind of sticky and gummy. Next time I will try making this on the stove top instead of crock pot. There will be a next time because I LOVED the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Very Tasty :) Easy preparation and the whole family enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Too much pepper! I cut the pepper to only one teaspoon and the recipe called for two teaspoons. You would have to really like spicy for that. If I make it again I will probably only put 1/4 of a teaspoon of pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
This was very good, although not super flavorful. I added a coupl eof different kinds of mushrooms and ate it with hot sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
My changes: about double the broth, adding two extra cups chopped mushrooms during last 5-10 minutes, 2 tbs red wine, 1 regular onion instead of flakes, 3 cloves minced garlic. With these minor changes the recipes was pretty good! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
My husband, a total mushroom fanatic, loved it. I like mushrooms too - not nearly as much as he does though - but thought the dried mushrooms made overwhelmed the other flavors. Next time I won't use so many, because otherwise it was tasty, filling, healthy, inexpensive and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Awesome. Amazingly hearty and tasty: I made this for dinner and 3 meat-loving, six foot tall men were pleased and satisfied. Amazingly easy and healthy: I've been preparing the dry version of this recipe for all my friends with newborns. They've really appreciated the energy boost this healthy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
I added jalapenos for an extra kick and cooked the barley for 35 min. It was amazing! Super healthy and was great as a leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
I really liked this but my family didn't. I think the problem was that I made it the day before we ate it and it got really thick overnight. Also I think cooking it on high for 4 hours would have been enough. I will make it again but not the day before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
I thought this recipe had too much pepper. I even halved it and still found it too peppery for my taste. Otherwise it was good. I did use only baby bella mushrooms. This is a very thick stew and I think I will add a little extra broth next time (along with less pepper).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lehttp://allntil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States