Mushroom Lentil Barley Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
Way too much pepper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
I used brown rice in place if the barley and a bit of cumin, turmeric and red pepper to taste. My toddlers 3 and 2 loved loved loved it! Couldn't be easier to make. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I'm a big fan of this soup. I like to add stew meat. I also really like how simple this is to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by poorbachelorguy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Willow Grove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
This smelled so great while it was cooking, I had high hopes. Unfortunately, I was disappointed. The shiitake mushrooms had a an unappealing texture and after one day, the leftovers were a thick and unappetizing. I'm sorry. I feel terrible, but this is my first one-star review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I have several favorite recipes from AllRecipes but have never written a review before. I LOVE this soup. I used chicken broth instead of veggie. I also sauteed an onion and a couple of cloves of garlic as another review suggested. I didn't have time to make this in the crock pot so did it on the stove top. It was ready in about an hour and fifteen minutes. I had a cup or so of baby spinach I needed to use so I chopped that and added it at the end. Also used a Tuscan spice blend instead of the savory since I didn't have savory. My meat eating husband loved this soup too. The only change I would make next time is to reduce the amount of barley and increase the lentils. I felt they were ouatnumbered! I will definitely make this again. Almost forgot. I decreased the pepper to 3/4 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jleey
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Awesome soup, had such amazing flavor. I followed the recipe to a T except I didn't use any shitaki, used a box of baby portobello mushrooms. Cooked on high for 4 hours was perfect. A really good hearty & filling soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
I feel like this recipe called for too much liquid. But that's easily recommended in a crockpot with a longer cook time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
tastes great, very easy to make, but cooking it on High cooked out most of my broth, so I had to add some water. I didn't even cook it for 4 hours on high, so be mindful of that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison S

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
This is great. Very flavoursome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
It was edible but lacked gusto in the flavor and texture department. I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Beef and Barley Stew

Discover Chef John's delicious recipe for "stick to your ribs" stew.

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States