Mushroom Kabobs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
These were wonderful! I used an orange bell pepper instead of green (I find the green ones a little bitter), chestnut and button mushrooms, and also an onion cut into wedges. I marinated the kabobs overnight, and they were SO flavorsome! I really recommend using fresh herbs with this - the flavors compliment the veggies so well. Thanks so much, Bob!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Wow! I made this last night and it was awesome. I used shrooms, a red and yellow bell pepper, and sweet onion. For the marinade I used dried thyme and rosemary using 1/2 the amounts and I crushed it between my palms. I increased the garlic to 4 cloves. I mixed the marinade and poured it over my veggies and let them marinade for several hours, stirring occasionally. Then I skewered the veggies & grilled them on med. heat. I was tired of the typical Italian type dressing marinade for veggies & I will definitely do this again. Don't let the smell of the marinade fool you, the marinade is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2004
The marinade was very good in a subtle way. Although I used fresh lemon juice, portebello mushrooms and added steak to the kabobs. They were delicious, the entire family ate them up! I would suggest if you are going to add steak or chicken to make more of the marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
Love the flavour. Instead of just brushing the flavored oil on the kabobs I marinated them in the oil for approx. 4 hours. Also didn't have fresh herbs so used half the amount called for in dried variety. Excellant Veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
Excellent marinade for veggies. I've made this 6 or 7 times now, and it's excellent every time. I sometimes add zucchini pieces, or onion wedges and I usually use a red and yellow pepper for colour, and because we enjoy them more than the green.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walkerton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Excellent! I left my mushrooms whole and combined everything in a bowl and let it sit for a 45 minutes or so. Very flavorful. I will make this often this summer. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
This was okay. It was easy to make and average tasting. I made it as written, except I added onion wedges to the mix. The big plus was the beautiful color it added to my meal of steak fajita strips. I served both over brown rice, with orange slices on the plates for additional color and to cool the palate from the beef fajita "heat". I will make it again, marinating the vegetables in the sauce for an hour or two before cooking and perhaps adding some fresh basil to kick up the flavor some. Thanks, Bob, for an easy addition of vegetables to my family's meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lilburn, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
I tried this yesterday and it was wonderful. I didn't have any lemon juice, so I left that out. But I'm sure it would have been even better with it. I also didn't have fresh thyme, so I used dried and added a little fresh basil. I used mushrooms cut in half, onions, red and yellow peppers. I didn't use green because I like the red and yellow much better. I will be using this recipe a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
This waa delish.. I added some red onion to it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SABUYUKCAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Really good......made a few minor adjustments though....I subbed the green pepper for vidalia onion chunks, omitted the rosemary since I had none and used dried instead of fresh thyme. Excellent veggie kabobs....and such a tasty marinade. Love the lemon juice and fresh garlic. Will make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Bison and Veggie Kabobs

Learn how to make lean bison and vegetable kabobs with couscous salad.

Sensational Sirloin Kabobs

Sirloin steak cubes marinated in a soy-based sauce and grilled with vegetables.

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States