Mushroom Crusted Ham and Cheese Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
This was SO good and SO easy!!! I used leftover ham, so it had a sweet honey glaze still on it. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grimsby, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Excellent. For those of us who don't care for HOT sauce... I cut the ground pepper in half and substituted 1 T of Worcestershire Sauce instead of the HOT sauce, and it gave it a nice rich flavor, without being spicy. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
What a great, creative way to use up the rest of a ham! I made it with a few lighter options, like many people---I used 1 whole egg, and 3 egg whites, 2% cheese, and light cream cheese. You would never know the difference in taste. My husband, daughter and I polished off more than half of the pie in one sitting----we kept going back for seconds! (and thirds) Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
What makes this pie is definitely the mushroom crust, no doubt about it. It is an original and very tasty addition. While I really liked this dish, I felt it was too rich and salty otherwise. I think next time I make this I will omit the Cheddar cheese altogether and reduce the cream cheese to 2/3 container. I added garlic and Rosemary to the crust, as well as Rosemary and thyme to the egg mixture for an even more savory flavored dish. This is a great recipe to experiment with your herbs for different versions of this recipe. I will definitely be keeping this recipe and experimenting with it to tweak it to my tastes. I'm glad I found it here! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Very good flavor. The crust was a bit gooey...next time I will try baking a bit before adding egg filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
YUM! I was skeptical at first, but the reviews (and my low carb diet) insisted I try it. My husband loved it too! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
200 calories, 9g fat, 19g protein, 12g carbs (per calorie count) I used 6 mini pot pie pans and altered the recipe as follows: Substituted non-fat cream cheese and instead cooked mushrooms with 2 cloves of garlic, 1/2 tsp sage, 1/4 tsp tarragon and 2 tsp onion powder. Omitted butter and instead cooked mushrooms with 1 tbs olive oil and sprayed tins with Pam. I used extra lean ham (5% fat). I had to add 2 eggs (6 eggs total) to fill the pot pie pans. I omitted the cheddar cheese and salt for nutritional reasons. I omitted the parsley and onions because I did not have them. I refrigerated the individual pies and reheated them at the same oven temp. for 10 minutes. Yummy & easy dinners for a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
I made sure that I followed your recipe. We ate it, but it wasn't as good as it sounded. Thanks for trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
sooooooooooooo good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Markdale, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This was so good!!! The only change I made was to finely chop a leek into the mix. I think it really flavored the dish nicely. I also replaced half of the cream cheese with cottage cheese and you couldn't tell the difference, but my diet could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States