Mushroom Crusted Ham and Cheese Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
WOW!! Used a few more mushrooms, and a clove of garlic in the crust, and substituted a couple of slices of whole wheat bread toasted dry for the bread crumbs. Didn't have the herb flavored cream cheese, used 1/3 less fat cream cheese and about 1 tsp. dried thyme instead--YUMMY--also used pieces of sliced deli ham instead of chunks of diced!!!! This is a beautiful recipe, with lots of great earthy flavor--served for dinner with a salad and fruit, or great for a brunch--not bready like so many other breakfast casseroles can be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2003
This was wonderful. I sauteed a couple of cloves of garlic with the mushrooms. I didn't have herb flavored cream cheese so I added 1 tbsp of pesto. I'm doing a low-carb thing right now so I didn't add the bread crumbs and increased the parmesan cheese to 1/2 c. Thanks so much for submitting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
delicious....but...25.8 grams of fat & 334 calories per serving..lets do the math..232 calories from fat.. thats 70%..thats too high for my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smitty
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
i just found this recipe this morning...and it forsure gets a five plus from our house...we were supposed to go out for brunch but really glad we didn't bother...i made this instead (tho i was in a hurry) it turned out fabulous...i used white shrooms (coz that is all i could get at the grocery store) but would like to use brown ones next time...and there will be a next time...didn't have regular bread crumbs on hand so i used panko...followed the recipe but added a few drops (seven) of worchestershire as another reviewer did...as well as a few shakes of good garlic powder...well...the dh was pleased...he suggested next time i put in either green and/or red peppers too...and i used herb and garlic cream cheese spread...the dish was so tasty and creamy...will be making it again soon!!! thanks so much for sharing the recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
Used Egg Beaters, reduced fat cheeses, and butter flavored Pam, and it was fine and greatly reduced the fat content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2002
I'm not too fond of ham, but this recipe did a great job with it! I though it was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
It's a lovely recipe, a bit time consuming but all the ingredients compliment each other really well and the pie tastes wonderfully. I added garlic to the mushroom crust and didn't use ham. Many compliments to Linda Miranda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TequilaGirl

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Perfect the way it is. I am on a VERY low carb diet and doing very well.. so I did only 1 substitute on this. I crushed pork rinds into crumbs in replacement for the bread crumbs. Worked very well. Yes its adding more "fat" - yet on a Low carb diet..it works! Thanks for this Recipe! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2002
This sounded better than it was. I liked it ok, but my kids and even my mushroom-loving husband asked me not to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
not bad, but too much calories and things for the results I got. Don't mean to do it again, sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Mini Ham and Cheese Roll Dinner

Hot little sandwiches and cool pasta salad pair perfectly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States