Mushroom Crusted Ham and Cheese Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
WOW!! Used a few more mushrooms, and a clove of garlic in the crust, and substituted a couple of slices of whole wheat bread toasted dry for the bread crumbs. Didn't have the herb flavored cream cheese, used 1/3 less fat cream cheese and about 1 tsp. dried thyme instead--YUMMY--also used pieces of sliced deli ham instead of chunks of diced!!!! This is a beautiful recipe, with lots of great earthy flavor--served for dinner with a salad and fruit, or great for a brunch--not bready like so many other breakfast casseroles can be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
delicious....but...25.8 grams of fat & 334 calories per serving..lets do the math..232 calories from fat.. thats 70%..thats too high for my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2003
This was wonderful. I sauteed a couple of cloves of garlic with the mushrooms. I didn't have herb flavored cream cheese so I added 1 tbsp of pesto. I'm doing a low-carb thing right now so I didn't add the bread crumbs and increased the parmesan cheese to 1/2 c. Thanks so much for submitting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smitty
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
i just found this recipe this morning...and it forsure gets a five plus from our house...we were supposed to go out for brunch but really glad we didn't bother...i made this instead (tho i was in a hurry) it turned out fabulous...i used white shrooms (coz that is all i could get at the grocery store) but would like to use brown ones next time...and there will be a next time...didn't have regular bread crumbs on hand so i used panko...followed the recipe but added a few drops (seven) of worchestershire as another reviewer did...as well as a few shakes of good garlic powder...well...the dh was pleased...he suggested next time i put in either green and/or red peppers too...and i used herb and garlic cream cheese spread...the dish was so tasty and creamy...will be making it again soon!!! thanks so much for sharing the recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
Used Egg Beaters, reduced fat cheeses, and butter flavored Pam, and it was fine and greatly reduced the fat content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2002
I'm not too fond of ham, but this recipe did a great job with it! I though it was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
It's a lovely recipe, a bit time consuming but all the ingredients compliment each other really well and the pie tastes wonderfully. I added garlic to the mushroom crust and didn't use ham. Many compliments to Linda Miranda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TequilaGirl

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Perfect the way it is. I am on a VERY low carb diet and doing very well.. so I did only 1 substitute on this. I crushed pork rinds into crumbs in replacement for the bread crumbs. Worked very well. Yes its adding more "fat" - yet on a Low carb diet..it works! Thanks for this Recipe! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2002
This sounded better than it was. I liked it ok, but my kids and even my mushroom-loving husband asked me not to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
not bad, but too much calories and things for the results I got. Don't mean to do it again, sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States