Mushroom Cream Gravy Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Christien Zhang
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
easy to cook. unfortunately i didnt find rosemary near my house. so i didnt put it but the taste is still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hubi's hatch
Reviewed: May 14, 2015
Absolutely delicious. I added a bit of stock to the sauce before adding cream to keep it a bit healthier .. gave it a nice rich flavour. Served it with chicken and home made gnocchi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hackney, Greater London, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sheri Maass
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Amazing recipe! I used this as a cream sauce for my mushroom ravioli. I only used a few tablespoons of wine and the rest subbed with vegetable broth. Used little more parmesan than recipe asked for. This is high end restaurant quality delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
6 out of 6 family members ate this tonight so I consider that a great success! I did double it since we were having it atop pasta rather than meat or potatooes. It definitely needs much more than 5 minutes to cook down and in the end I added a little cornstarch to thicken it. I didn't have any fettuccine on hand, so I opted for bow tie and it made for a good substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Adams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Excellent recipe, didn't have heavy cream so I used half n half. I also decreased the garlic to 1/2 clove fresh minced rosemary to about 1/2-1 tsp. I did have to let it simmer about 10 min or so in order to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngelaRae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eagan, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I didn't have heavy cream or white wine or shallots. lol So, I used a yellow onion instead. I did use a Hungarian Green duck wine. For the cream, I used a combo of whole milk, yogurt and 1 tblsp cornstarch (thickening agent). I needed to use more pepper than usual, to counter-act the sweetness from the Green Duck, as well as a 1/2 tsp of roasted garlic. After adding the milk/yogurt, I turned it down to med-low after it started to boil at medium high, so it wouldn't scorch. I let it simmer for about 10 minutes and it has a nice, rich consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ukiah, California, USA
Living In: Gresham, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
This is good, it's just needs more time to cook down to a sauce consistency. It'll take more like 15 minutes rather than 5, so just give it some time, rather adding a roux affecting the delicate flavor of the creamy sauce. I made this and put in a double boiler on simmer to wait for the meat to cook. I did add a splash of sherry, but otherwise followed the ingredient listing. Forgot to add the parmesan, but it was good even without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
As written this sauce is too lose for me (you could cook much longer to reduce the cream, but I prefer a roux), and too much rosemary (I reduced to one teaspoon of fresh so it wasn't like a pine branch), also needed other adjustments and additions to make a really good sauce. Add flour equal to butter after sautéing vegies to make a roux, add one cup rich beef broth then heavy cream and wine, simmer till thickened and serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jdg78

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Sun City West, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Mushroom Gravy

See how to make quick and easy mushroom gravy.

Gorgonzola Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic, creamy sauce with tangy blue cheese.

How to Make Turkey Gravy

See how to make the perfect turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States