Mushroom Chicken in Sour Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Thompson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by kayleigh.
Reviewed: May 1, 2014
I didn't use the lemon pepper or wine and added a few chilli flakes and onions. It's really tasty with rice and sweet potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
My husband and I enjoyed the flavor. I followed the diretions with the amount of spices but didn't have any white wine and used water instead as well as used thigh instead of breast, it was on sale when I went shopping. Overall good flavor and went well over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Definitely hold the sour cream until last or it curdles. Wine gives it a great flavor. A great, tasty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
The chicken with the rub is definitely not bland. I took the advice of other reviewers and sauteed the mushrooms in a little butter before adding to the pot and I added the sour cream 30 minutes before serving. I also cut the chicken into bite size pieces and put back in the pot after adding the sour cream. My family really liked it. I will definitely be making this again. I had 2 lbs. chicken breast that I cut horizontally across before adding the rub so my breast were thinner and it only took like 3 1/2 hours total to cook. The last half hour I turned it up to high. Served over slightly buttered Jasmine rice. I did double the sauce which does make a lot. Unless you really want a lot of sauce I wouldn't recommend it. Because I doubled the sauce I also doubled the mushrooms. The next day I grilled up some more chicken with the same rub and added to the sauce and served for dinner again. It was very tasty. Thanks wx2computers for sharing a simple and easy but great recipe. UPDATE: The next time we made this my husband threw some of the leftover spice set from the rub (he made a little extra) into the finished sauce and stirred it all together. The extra spices added even more delicious flavor to this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
This isn't the prettiest dinner I've ever served, but it does taste great. Next time I'll wait to add the sour cream so the sauce doesn't look so split. I didn't have any lemon-pepper so I added the juice of a lemon just before serving. Very easy and tastes great: will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyd_Delve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
It sounded so good, but turned out so bad! Watery, overcooked, boiled chicken with curdled sour cream after only 4 hours on Low. I sure wish I had read some of the reviews and tweaked the recipe before trying it as written. What a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
It was great, I also changed some things, adding sour cream at end so it was more creamy. I definitely will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
This recipe was easy but it lacked flavor, even though I added a larger amount of spices than the recipe called for. My husband asked whether I'd boiled the chicken because to him it didn't have the taste of chicken. I agree. I cooked it in the slow cooker for 6 hours on low and added the sour cream an hour before serving it over buttered noodles. The chicken was moist, but the dish was nothing special. Sorry, but I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
3.5 Tasted good, too watery and I guess I should have added the sour cream at the end but I wasn't home as everything looked curdled. Nope, had such high hopes for it................
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States