Mushroom Chicken Piccata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
My husband and I both thought this was excellent, plus we loved the fact that the sauce wasn't full of butter. I cooked the chicken thoroughly in the pan, removed it, then made the sauce...I didn't simmer them together as I think it would have made the breading very mushy. We can't wait to have it again! *UPDATE: As much as we liked the original recipe, we LOVE this version: Skip the whole chicken process and go straight to cooking the veggies and sauce. After sauce has thickened, toss in a green vegetable (we use broccoli florets, snap peas or asparagus), then a bunch of peeled, raw shrimp. The shrimp only need a few minutes to cook, and this will keep your green veggie from getting mushy. Serve over pasta - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
317 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~MOMMY~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
Absolutely delicious! A note, if you decrease the amount of servings, do not change the amount of sauce ingredients, or will cook off all the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
248 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
I dont think the egg is nescessary in the coating. I used chicken cutlets and browned them removed from pan added olive oil the sauteed shrooms shallots and garlic then deglazed with wine added lemon and mixed starch with broth added to pan until thickend returned chicken to pan and topped with parsley. Overall it was a easy one pan meal. served with rice pilaf
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StylinCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewiston, Maine, USA
Living In: Auburn, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
Awesome and SO easy. I added capers and took the chicken out while the sauce reduced, and then put it back in when I was almost done. Other than that, I stuck to the recipe, there were NO leftovers. I served this with garlic mashed potatoes and steamed broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chelmsford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Charlestown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
Liked this better than Chicken Marsala. Instead of paprika, used rosemary in the flour mixture. After cooking chicken, removed it and cooked onions, mushrooms and garlic. Added the wine and after few mins, added chicken broth with cornstarch already dissolved and lemon juice. Served it over rosemary garlic mashed potatos. Excellent recipe - thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
This was very good - I used chicken tenderloins which I pounded thin, then I floured, dipped in egg mixture then dregged again. After browning the chicken, I removed them to a warm platter. After sauteing the mushrooms and onions, I made the sauce, I added additional broth and wine, but did not increase the lemon. As others, instead of using cornstarch, I used the leftover flour mixture to thicken the sauce. Next time I will increase the lemon juice and that will probably bring this recipe up to 5 stars. Definitely, increase the sauce. I added the chicken back into the sauce just before serving. Served over whole wheat thin spagetti. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Bank, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Windermere, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2001
All I can say is WOW! I recently tasted veal piccata in a well known Chicago restaurant. I came online to search for something similar but with chicken instead. Not only did this recipe live up to my expectations...it exceeded them! Tremendous recipe! A must try! Thank you Karen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Berger DeRespinis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Springboro, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
We really liked this one. I've been looking for a good chicken piccata recipe, and this is it! Only thing missing from the recipe is capers - we added about a tablespoonful, and that really added to the flavor. Also added freshly ground black pepper to the flour mixture. I like the idea of adding artichoke hearts - will try that next time as others suggested. Served it with mushroom rice and steamed broccoli. We'll definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
Very good!! I halved the recipe but kept the sauce the same...used Ecco Domani Pinot Grigio for the wine and added capers. Chicken was fork tender and sauce was delicious - went perfect with a baked potato and some veggies. Thanks...I will make this one again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chikee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
I added capers and alittle garlic to the gravy. Very tasty. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 333) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mushroom Chicken Piccata

Mushrooms take classic chicken piccata to new heights of flavor.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Lemon Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic chicken dish with a tart lemon-butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States