Mushroom Chicken Barley Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
I thought this tasted great. I did make one small change, i cubed the chicken and cooked it in a tsp of the olive oil, then added just 1 tbsp balsamic vinegar (instead of 2) at the end of cooking to glaze the chicken, then set it aside. Then I continued the recipe in the same pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Greve, Sjælland, Denmark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I did a little tweaking - poached the chicken. Didn't use water - it has no flavor - used stock & wine. Needed more liquid/time to get the barley cooked. See my custom version for notes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Very delicious!!! I soaked the barley for 4 hours before cooking which decreased cooking time to 30 minutes. I didn't add the Romano/ parmasean cheese and used almond milk bc a family member is lactose intolerant. It was still extremely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Very creamy and mild. I used arborrio rice instead to stay gluten free and it turned out great! I also used a 3 cheese blend. Everyone loved it! Would be good served with asparagus on the side. This only served 4, double for a bigger portion or leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Cole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I used Arborio rice instead of the barley, also used chicken broth for all of the water and vegetable broth called for in the recipe. I added 1/2 tspn. Basil and omitted the balsamic vinegar when cooking the chicken, I simply stir-fried it with the vegetables(sliced thinly length-wise). It was wonderful. I think next time I might add a 1/2 tspn of dried thyme or Rosemary for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Ann thought this was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Excellent! Very rich. I only had skim/fat free mik, which worked fine. I will cut the romano cheese down to about 1/8-1/4 cup next time I make it. While it is delicious, it's worth noting that this dish (like regular risotto) is very labor intensive--you are standing at the stove stirring nonstop for about an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I chose this recipe to use a left-over roasted chicken breast. I also used my homemade chicken broth instead of the vegetable broth just as a personal preference. We thought this was a great dish. This is not the quickest dish to make, but certainly it is very healthy and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
This dish is a hearty, filling dish that is easy to make vegetarian. The barley is an interesting substitution for rice that lends this towards a winter meal. I followed the directions exactly, and it turns out creamy, with just the right amount of chew. I'd recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Never had barley before in my life. It was good but had a strange taste and texture. I recommend adding some seasonings of your own because it was kind of bland. My dad used hot sauce and said it made it 10 times better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brooke&ashlea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Mushroom Chicken Piccata

Mushrooms take classic chicken piccata to new heights of flavor.

Chicken and Mushroom Chimichangas

Chicken, cheese, and mushrooms are wrapped in tortillas and baked.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States