Mushroom, Cheese, and Haddock Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I liked this fish dish, I really enjoy the combo of mushrooms, cheese and haddock. The only thing I disliked is that it came out of the oven very watery, I am pretty sure it was the mushrooms as they will sweat when cooking. In the future, I would saute the mushrooms until they released all their liquid, not just 5 minutes, then add the onion until tender. Additionally, not covering the dish with foil may help. I used cheddar cheese over the Colby-Jack, as it is a more flavorful cheese, not sure it made a difference. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This was fantastic! My husband's comment was "This fish is awesome. We need to have this again." I didn't have the chile peppers and used marble cheese instead. Definitely a must-have again recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
I really like haddock, mushrooms and cheese, so I really expected to like this recipe... but I just didn't. The combination of flavours just did not work together for me. I gave it 3 stars because my husband and I both finished it, but I wouldn't make it again. Another thing I would like to note is that the fish should not take 30-35 minutes in the oven, mine was done in just under 20.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
This recipe was a nice change from our usual baked fish. The only thing I plan to change next time is to cut down on the amount of shredded cheese since we felt the cheese masked too much of the haddock flavor. All in all this is a good recipe. Thank you for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
great and easy recipe! my husband and kids all loved it! I didn't have any chilies, but they weren't even missed. I also used portabella mushrooms. I'll definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
I ommitted the chili peppers, as my husband doesn't care for them. We thought the dish was very blah, with little to no flavor. Could be because of the missing peppers. Anyway, don't think I'll be doing this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Howen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stevens Point, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I really enjoyed it....especially the red chile peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This is a very good recipe for haddock - I used crimini mushrooms, omitted the dried chili peppers and substituted cheddar cheese for the blend suggested in the recipe. If you use fresh fillets, they'll be cooked after the first 15 minutes, so I broiled the cheese after the initial cooking time and that worked like a charm. The reason for the 4 stars - having access to fresh haddock all year around, I have other recipes that are just awesome. This one is great for a quick week-day meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
I made this for dinner last night but omitted the dried red chile peppers and it came out awsome. I will definetly save this recipe and make again. It was very simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
This was delicious! We used a vidalia onion and added red and yellow peppers (we wanted to use up). My husband and my 6 year old loved it!!! Would abosolutely make this again! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymayer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Baked Haddock

Parmesan cheese adds a nice flavor to these baked haddock fillets.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States