Mushroom Cheddar Batter Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Although this was not really batter bread (yeast bread that is beaten rather than kneaded and formed) I was still eager to try it. It had great reviews and enticing ingredients. But I should have paid more attention to the high ratio of eggs to flour because if I had I probably could have predicted that not only is this not batter bread, it’s not bread at all. The texture is very eggy and has no crumb. It smelled good as it was baking and it tasted good too. But this is more like an oven omelet, so for that reason alone this recipe was very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarielJD
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Great bread! I used whole wheat flour. Next time we will try using jalapeno peppers for even more spice! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
This is a wonderful recipe. It's delicious!! My family loved it and requested that I make it again. It was gone in no time. Thanks you Cyndi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TexasGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
This was not only delicious, but beautiful as well! I made this exactly as written and thought it was very moist and had wonderful flavor. Gabe ate 2 slices, lol! Cyndi, thanks so much for a great new quick bread recipe that we will enjoy again and again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
I just baked this early this morning I brought in the end of my peppers from the garden yesterday and thought I would ty it. I love it! I was tempted to put in my hot peppers but maybe next time. Great recipe, Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Yum, yum, yum!! This smells INCREDIBLE baking, is gorgeous when sliced, & tastes AMAZING! We absolutely LOVED it!! I used 2 small cans(4 oz each) of mushrooms, chopped, drained & squeezed to get most of the moisture out. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
WOWWEEEEEE!!! I spotted this recipe recently in the AR photos and immediately knew this would be something we’d like. Well, “like” is an UNDERSTATEMENT!!! We LOVED this!!! I made this exactly as written and it produced the MOST GORGEOUS little loaf of bread I’ve ever made. And, it tastes as wonderful as it looks. I am THRILLED with this recipe!! Thank you, thank you, Cat Lady Cyndi!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
I loved this recipe! My only substitution was zucchini for the mushrooms since this is what I had on hand. I will definately make this again and try with different veggie combos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAISIN1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
This is a simple and delicious recipe. I used cheddar jack cheese, but otherwise followed the recipe as written. This is delicious served warm. I will definitely make this again! Thanks, Cyndi, for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
This was very good. I accidently doubled up on the onion and bell peppers. But it turned out great. Tasted like a south western style omlet in a way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Pumpkin Bread IV

This pumpkin bread is dense, moist, and flavorful.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States