Mushroom Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I used oatmeal instead of bread, which gave this meal a more meaty feel. Also, instead of oyster sauce, I substituted with hot sauce, which really gave it a nice flavor! Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2003
These are really flavorful and delicious. I used olive oil instead of cooking spray and found that, along with hand shaping the burgers, it helped keep them together. A real winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2005
Very good! I used steak sauce instead of oyster sauce like someone suggested. It did fall apart so next time I'm going to try chopping up the mushrooms. The larger slices seemed to be what made it fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
I was pleasantly surprised with this! I read other reviews first and IF you do make these changes: -Chop the mushrooms -Use 2 eggs -Fry in 2-3 tbsps of oil They will act (and even look) like hamburger meat. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
I recently became a vegetarian and I must say, this is one of my favorite veggie burger recipes. On adding oatmeal the texture did in fact become meat like, very tasty. I used soy instead of oyster sauce. I also baked it for 20 minutes (don't have cooking spray)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2001
This was a great recipe because it allows for great variation as well as lots of veggies! I also love how it's relatively low in calories and fat. It tasted wonderful and I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2002
This was an incredible alternative to meat burgers. Mine fell apart when I tried to cook them in patties, but the made a grat filling for pita!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I have thrown away all my other veggie burger recipes (with beans, lentils, garbanzos etc.) and will only make this recipe. I added 1 cup of oatmeal and sprinkled on some ground flaxseed which really binded it together well. Tastes like a real hamburger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I let the mixture cool in the fridge for an hour after I added the egg to increase cohesiveness. This worked and the burgers stuck together much better than if I'd tried to form them right away. However, the still needed to be handled with care. I fried them over low heat on the largest burner. We don't eat oysters, so I used 1 TB each of Worshire sauce and soy sauce. I also used oatmeal instead of bread crumbs (instant). The burgers came out very meaty and flavorful. Will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Tel Aviv, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Oyster sauce is an acquired taste so you may want to try steak sauce or another family favorite. Also added a little panko flakes to hold the burger together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Mushroom Veggie Burger

See how to make a flavorful veggie burger that’s never dry.

How to Grill Burgers

Watch five terrific tips for building and grilling the best burgers on the block.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States