Mushroom Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
So delicious! Definitely chop the mushrooms and use 2 eggs. I used green onions because it's what I had on hand, garlic, and Worcestshire sauce instead of oyster sauce. I also used bread crumbs and wheat germ and eye-balled the amount I needed before and after I added the eggs. Handforming the patties worked really well because if they fell apart I just added more breadcrumbs/wheat germ. Like other reviewers I fried the patties in 2-3 TBS of oil and they kept their form. This is going in my rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
I was pleasantly surprised with this! I read other reviews first and IF you do make these changes: -Chop the mushrooms -Use 2 eggs -Fry in 2-3 tbsps of oil They will act (and even look) like hamburger meat. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
This was soooo good!! The only change I made was I used egg whites and that works too. Very good, will definetly make much more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I used oatmeal instead of bread, which gave this meal a more meaty feel. Also, instead of oyster sauce, I substituted with hot sauce, which really gave it a nice flavor! Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
I really enjoyed this recipe. I did chop the mushrooms and it seemed to help keep them in "patties",but I also found that they were a little too wet so I added more bread crumbs than it called for. Also didn't have oyster sauce, so used veggie broth instead which gave it great flavor! They are very tasty when served with lettuce tomato onion and cheese and stuck under the broiler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Marietta, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
Adding one more egg to the mixture and frying in oil rather than cooking spray helps firm it up (much like eggs foo yung). Using toasted whole grain bread crumbs gives it a little more hearty flavor. I added a little garlic and chili powder just because I like the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2005
Very good! I used steak sauce instead of oyster sauce like someone suggested. It did fall apart so next time I'm going to try chopping up the mushrooms. The larger slices seemed to be what made it fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
Yum! These were delicious. I definitely recommend this very flavorful and healthy recipe. Very quick and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2004
These were pretty good - like most reviewers I had trouble keeping them in patties but had some success by letting them fry on each side longer than I normally would have. That seemed to glue them together some. Also, the smaller the 'burger' the better they stayed together. I wasn't a huge fan of the oyster sauce taste (by the way, look in your asian food section or wherever soy sauce is if you're having trouble finding it) but that's a personal preference. Next time I may try some steak sauce instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
My husband and I both thought that these were horrible. They fell apart and you could not make it stick into a pattie. They were very bland and nothing would help them. I threw it all out and made something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Mushroom Veggie Burger

See how to make a flavorful veggie burger that’s never dry.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States