Mushroom Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
This was an excellent recipe. One of my family members accidently grabbed one of my burgers, and the only difference he could tell was that it was a little bit sweeter then normal. The only thing I didnt like was how they kept crumbling, so I put the mushrooms in my chopper until it was almost like a paste and then I added an extra teaspoon of barbecue sauce. It turned out great thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
I absolutely loved this recipe and have made it 4 times since discovering it 3 weeks ago! I've tried mushroom burgers before, but they've never tasted like this! My version is slightly different. I use 2 giant portabella mushroom caps (chopped), 1/2 white onion, 1/2 cup Panko japanese style bread crumbs, 2 tbsp A1 steak sauce and 1 egg and shape into 4 patties. I serve on reduced calorie wheat toast (35 calories per slice). My modified version comes to only 71 calories per patty (or 141 total with the toast) and they're SO delicious! They're terrific served with a light soup or sweet potato fries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
I adored this! I heeded previous reviews, though, and added an extra slice of bread and an extra egg, and made sure to slice my mushrooms until they were very small. I also added wheat germ after cooking the mushroom mix to reassure it'd stick, and it did, though I kept the portions small. About the length of my balled fist (though I am a teenage girl, so keep that in mind). Substituted oyster sauce for soy sauce. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
not very easy to make and did not taste very good.. did i mention they don't stay together. i will stick to portobella burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by socogirl5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Oyster sauce is an acquired taste so you may want to try steak sauce or another family favorite. Also added a little panko flakes to hold the burger together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
Really loved this recipe - used 1/2 bread crumbs (whole wheat) and 1/2 oatmeal with Cattle Boys BBQ Sauce instead of oyster sauce and it was to die for! My husband insisted we make these again the very next night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
I recently became a vegetarian and I must say, this is one of my favorite veggie burger recipes. On adding oatmeal the texture did in fact become meat like, very tasty. I used soy instead of oyster sauce. I also baked it for 20 minutes (don't have cooking spray)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
These were very good! I took the advice of others and chopped the mushrooms. To the onion-mushroom mixture, I omitted the oyster sauce and added freshly chopped basil, parsley and garlic. I used instant oatmeal instead of bread crumbs. The burgers were moist and held together. I made some burgers in a frying pan and some baked in the oven at 400 for 25 minutes. Both were good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Zo Zee
Reviewed: May 15, 2009
these were awesome. my boyfriend engulfed 3 in minutes. I suggest using plenty of seasoned bread crumbs to make these form cakes before placing on skillet. make sure to chop the onion and mushrooms very small, this will also help to keep them in burger form. cooking them long enough on each side helps too. i will try making them vegan in the future. also, i used steak sauce...oyster sauce did not seem like it would match this sandwich to me at all. also, i did not use the olive oil method others have used. i just sprayed the pan with canola oil and it worked perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zo Zee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Even though I love mushrooms, I wasn't completely sold on this dish. I still give it 4-stars though because it wasn't bad. I didn't really care for the taste of the oyster sauce (which I hadn't used in any dishes before), and like others, I did have trouble getting it to stay together. Like another reviewer, I would also recommend trying cutting up the mushrooms in smaller pieces to see if that helps hold together better. And maybe, if I try this again, I'll try a different sauce. I love the idea of steak sauce, but it might not be thick enough. We'll see...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Mushroom Veggie Burger

See how to make a flavorful veggie burger that’s never dry.

How to Grill Burgers

Watch five terrific tips for building and grilling the best burgers on the block.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States