Mushroom Blue Cheese Turkey Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
Finally a turkey burger that made my husband's hit list! Cooked them in a cast iron skillet and they didn't fall apart or need any additional basting - were juicy enough. Only thing I'll change next time is to eliminate the added salt. The soy sauce and blue cheese add plenty. I also think splitting it into 5 burgers would make for reasonable servings on the standard size burger bun. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Pappas

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Changes I made: canned mushrooms, drained and squeezed dry with a tea towel, then diced; sauteed the onions; 1 T Worchestershire + 1 T soy; 1/8 t table salt; added blue cheese crumbles to the meat mixture; added a dash of egg whites (only because I had some I needed to use in the fridge); and cooked them on a cast iron griddle. They were excellent. I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Loved it. Mixed everything together and formed 4 large burger patties. Used stove top to sear then popped in oven at 325 for 15 minutes to finish cooking. Used worchestershire sauce to limit sodium and the cheese I had on hand was monterrey jack pepper jack. Yum yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Warning. Once you have turkey burgers this way, no other way is good enough. These were awesome. I didnt have onions so I used onion powder. And used Bragg amino acids because that's my go to soy sauce substitute. Other than that, followed recipe as written. It was juicy, flavorful and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I will try these again but so far, my impression is that these were okay - not bad, not extraordinary. My husband seemed to like them better than I did. I used all-white meat ground chicken b/c that was what was available at my butcher. Maybe this would be better with ground dark meat turkey or chicken - or beef. I'll try it with dark meat next time and see if I like it any better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
These were GREAT! No one would ever know they were made with ground turkey. They stayed very moist and had a wonderful flavor. One of those items you would order in a restaurant and would say to yourself, these are really good, I wounder what's in them? They were even better a few nights later when the leftover mix was used to make sliders, wow everyone thought they were better than the full burgers! If you haven't tried these you should.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Had some thawed ground turkey and was looking for something different to do with it and found this. We loved it. I pretty much kept to the recipe, nothing major. I used red onion for the onion, used baby portabella mushrooms for the mushrooms. After cutting up these two I took half and sauteed just a bit, just so I would have different textures in the burger. I also mixed the blue cheese into the meat mix and I pan fried them and didn't have any problems with them falling apart. I did 4 large burgers and cooked 7 mins on each side with out messing with them in between flips. Very juicy and flavorful. It does have a dash more salt flavor than I prefer so next time I will lessen the salt added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
I loved this - even my kids loved it AND my super picky brother!! The flavors were awesome. I mixed the blue cheese into the meat. I precooked the mushrooms and onions but not to completely dehydrated. This is a 5 star as written. But I always need to tweak recipes... I love strong mushrooms and cheese, so I will try this again with stronger blue cheese and stronger flavored mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
We liked everything, except for the blue cheese. The cheese just didn't match the other flavors - for us. We will make the burgers again, we will just omit the cheese next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
This was delicious even with lowest calorie ground turkey breast! I only added garlic powder and put the blue cheese crumbles in the burgers. Then pan fried in cooking spray so it was very low calorie. My husband loved it and could not even tell it was a healthy recipes. That makes it a winner in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Spicy Chipotle Turkey Burgers

Spicy turkey burgers will give traditional beef burgers a run for their money.

Actually Delicious Turkey Burgers

These turkey burgers are so tasty, you may just give up beef for good.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States