Mushroom Blue Cheese Turkey Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
EDITED: I made these twice now. First time I made them stovetop and continued basting the burgers in the juices that were running out. My husband said these were the best burgers ever. I used Borsin cheese instead of blue and mixed it in. Second time - we grilled them and juices ran out. Still good but not amazing. LESSON LEARNED - these should be made stove top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
We probably eat this recipe at least once a week - love it! We add a full container of the crumbled bleu cheese (about 1/2 cup) directly to the mixture and it makes 8 burgers (much better than sprinkled on top). Great the 2nd day too (and don't worry if the burgers appear "black" out of the fridge... that's just the mushrooms with all the moisture. They're wonderful! We fry in a pan with just a touch of butter if it's not grilling season. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
These burgers just received rave reviews from my family, they were very moist and flavorful as well as easy to prepare. I altered the recipe in some minor ways according to what I had on hand. I used 20oz. ground turkey (that's what was in the pkg.), two medium sized portobella mushroom caps (probably about 3oz.), and feta cheese rather than blue cheese that I crumbled into the mixture before cooking. I also cooked them on the stovetop in a nonstick pan sprayed with oil. I made the patties rather small, there were 10 total, thus avoiding the 'falling apart' problem mentioned in a couple of the reviews. They were great! I have already added this recipe to my personal file and will undoubtedly use it as a starting point for endless variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2003
There is simply no better way to make turkey burgers! I was quite dubious about this recipe's success, owing to a personal aversion to blue cheese, but I was stunned, and pleasantly so, by the flavour of these burgers. I'll never settle for a bland, insipid turkey burg again! As for my method, I followed the advice of the other reviewers who incorporated the cheese directly in the meat. I also used tinned mushrooms, which did not seem to diminish or detract from flavour or texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2003
I add the cheese into the mixture before grilling, and usually add more than it suggests. Grilling these on the George Foreman works great. It turns into a year round recipe. Once you make these, it's hard to go back to plain turkey burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
Fresh ground turkey works for burgers much better than frozen, thawed turkey thus eliminating the need for bread crumbs, etc. Added four cloves of garlic and some steak seasoning. Sauted onions, garlic and mushrooms before adding to the turkey to reduce water in the mushrooms. Did not have blue cheese; used crumbled feta and added to the mixture. The mushrooms make these very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2003
Excellent burgers. I left out the blue cheese and they are still moist and delicious. I don't make any other kind of ground beef burgers anymore because these are so much more better than the normal one's. Love this recipe!~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2003
This is the best Turkey burger I've tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2003
These are pretty good! I mixed the blue cheese in with the meat and everything else. I did forget the chopped onion, but they were still good -- I just served them with fresh sliced onion instead. I used the leftovers to make Italian Wedding Soup the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SundayGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2002
These were super! We're always on the lookout for healthy recipes and these were easy, quick AND tasty. We used goat cheese since we didn't have blue cheese and the combined flavors really complimented each other. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Chantilly, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Spicy Chipotle Turkey Burgers

Spicy turkey burgers will give traditional beef burgers a run for their money.

Actually Delicious Turkey Burgers

These turkey burgers are so tasty, you may just give up beef for good.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States