Mushroom Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Soup is great! I've made it a few times, but have tweaked it. Don't need to cook barley in a separate pot. Up the amount of Beef stock (can use vegetable stock for vegetarians) to 6 cups. You will always need to add more. Saute as stated, adding mushrooms, then barley. Simmer for about 45 min - 1 hr. Saves a pot to clean & time is the same. Also vary the types of mushrooms - I've used Shitake, Cremini & Baby Bellas combined. Comes out even more heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazzy Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: East Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This soup is a good base recipe but I really feel it's overrated. As some other reviewers have noted the result has a hearty consistency but is bland. To make it special but keep it healthy I added 2/3 cup of sherry (red wine would also do nicely), two minced cloves of garlic to the onion sautee, and then minced a sprig of fresh rosemary (fresh tarragon or chopped fresh Italian parsley might also be nice). If you want a richer flavor consider using butter instead of olive oil to sautee the onions and garlic. This revised recipe would rate 4-5 stars but I can only give the original recipe 3 stars because it's just not exceptional without significant tinkering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
This soup was absolutely delicious. I made it vegetarian by using a vegetable broth ("World's Greatest Vegetable Broth" by Tom West) instead of the beef broth. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
This was so so delicious. I used a couple of different types of mushrooms which added interest. Looking forward to leftovers today with the soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Nice, nice recipe. Using a previous reviewer's suggestion I didn't precook the barley but cooked it in the broth instead. I doubled the carrot, used 1# sliced criminis, used 6 cups of broth (half beef/half chicken), then added my 1 cup of barley. I let the whole thing simmer for 45-50 minutes, adding 1 cup more of water along the way- but it could have used a bit more since the barley soaked up a lot. The final broth flavor could have used more of a boost, so next time I'll add a couple teaspoons of the old standby - poultry seasoning. Finally, I placed some thinly sliced baby spinach in the bottom of the bowl before ladling in the soup. Gave it another layer of veggies. Very nice overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIANKAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by unexpectedtriumphs
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
thanks so much for this recipe. i love mushrooms but don't like creamy variations too often. this has a real versatility to it. i added one garlic clove and a bit of thyme and only made a half recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by unexpectedtriumphs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
Very good, but I would suggest chopping the mushrooms. Sliced, they were, I hate to say it because it's not like they tasted bad, but they had a somewhat slimey consistency which I did not care for. I would leave everything else the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L.T.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
This is a very tasty and easy soup to make. I washed but didn't cook the barley in advance and added 2 cloves of chopped garlic to the other vegetables. Note - the day after the soup really thickens - as the barley soaks up a lot of the fluids. Just add boiling water, salt and pepper when re-heating and the soup will be just as good and last a little longer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
This soup had a lot of flavor. I added one more carrot and a few more mushrooms. If you want a good soup to warm your soul and tummy on a cold winter's evening,then by all means, make this wonderful soup. It pairs very well with a good crusty bread also. Dan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Oregon, USA
Living In: Toledo, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
5 stars! I simmered it for a length of time and the mushrooms soaked up the beefy flavour of the broth. Deicious with ground pepper and fresh-baked rolls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States