Mushroom Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
This was so so delicious. I used a couple of different types of mushrooms which added interest. Looking forward to leftovers today with the soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by unexpectedtriumphs
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
thanks so much for this recipe. i love mushrooms but don't like creamy variations too often. this has a real versatility to it. i added one garlic clove and a bit of thyme and only made a half recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by unexpectedtriumphs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
This soup had a lot of flavor. I added one more carrot and a few more mushrooms. If you want a good soup to warm your soul and tummy on a cold winter's evening,then by all means, make this wonderful soup. It pairs very well with a good crusty bread also. Dan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Oregon, USA
Living In: Toledo, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2008
This soup was absolutely delicious. I made it vegetarian by using a vegetable broth ("World's Greatest Vegetable Broth" by Tom West) instead of the beef broth. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
5 stars! I simmered it for a length of time and the mushrooms soaked up the beefy flavour of the broth. Deicious with ground pepper and fresh-baked rolls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
Very good, but I would suggest chopping the mushrooms. Sliced, they were, I hate to say it because it's not like they tasted bad, but they had a somewhat slimey consistency which I did not care for. I would leave everything else the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L.T.

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Not quite sure about this one. Was easy to make. It tasted a bit oily to me and I didn't over do the olive oil, I think its the beef broth. I cut up the mushrooms a bit finer than sliced and that came out well. The soup seems to lack seasoning - I added salt and pepper but it was still a bit bland. I'm not a very experienced cook, so was not sure what other seasoning would improve the recipe. Not sure I'll make this again...maybe it will taste better when its sat for a while?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Soup is great! I've made it a few times, but have tweaked it. Don't need to cook barley in a separate pot. Up the amount of Beef stock (can use vegetable stock for vegetarians) to 6 cups. You will always need to add more. Saute as stated, adding mushrooms, then barley. Simmer for about 45 min - 1 hr. Saves a pot to clean & time is the same. Also vary the types of mushrooms - I've used Shitake, Cremini & Baby Bellas combined. Comes out even more heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazzy Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: East Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
I love this soup recipe. It was so easy to make, healthy and delicious. My 2 year old daughter loved it as well. I do think next time i will use a variety of mushrooms and roughly chop them. As well as cut the amount of barley in half, i prefer my soups with more broth. I froze half of the soup because it made so much. Delicious! Thanks for this addition to my rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Good, alreay knew not to expect a "spicy" soup so added a couple of cloves of minced garlic, an extra carrot, 2 types of mushrooms and it was nice, subtle, comforting, filling change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States