Mushroom Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
We enjoyed this recipe, but like other reviewers I changed a few things. I doubled (at least) the carrots and celery. Then I added 3 cloves of minced garlic, 1 bay leaf, and a pinch of poultry seasoning. I did not precook the barley, but cooked it in the same pot and ended up using about 8 cups of chicken stock during the hour I simmered it. I will definitely make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Nice, nice recipe. Using a previous reviewer's suggestion I didn't precook the barley but cooked it in the broth instead. I doubled the carrot, used 1# sliced criminis, used 6 cups of broth (half beef/half chicken), then added my 1 cup of barley. I let the whole thing simmer for 45-50 minutes, adding 1 cup more of water along the way- but it could have used a bit more since the barley soaked up a lot. The final broth flavor could have used more of a boost, so next time I'll add a couple teaspoons of the old standby - poultry seasoning. Finally, I placed some thinly sliced baby spinach in the bottom of the bowl before ladling in the soup. Gave it another layer of veggies. Very nice overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIANKAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
It was OK. I expected a bit more. I made some modifications such as more spices (garlic, red pepper flakes, fresh parsley) as per others' suggestions. But it just didn't have the "heartiness" that I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Sometimes simple is best, and this recipe is proof of that. I halved the recipe, following the ingredient measurements by the T, and it came out absolutely delicious. I like the fact that it has beef flavour without actual beef, and that it is so quick to make. Really comforting and satisfying. I can have this as a meal, and I'm full... without the extra 10 lbs that normal comfort food would bring. Why haven't I discovered this recipe before?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This soup was pretty darn good. I made it how one of the reviewers suggested; simmering the barley in more broth, and adding more later when all the veggies were in. I added some zuchinni and, though it was squishy and overcooked, it was still delightful. I'll be making this again, but I think I'll use chicken stock instead of beef-- it was a bit too beefy for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I liked how easy it was. It was bland so had to add some seasoning to hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
Very good. I couldn't get the little ones to try it but my husband and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
tried this for the first time and will definitely make it again for company! this was a great starter before our cheese fondue meal, and the guests requested the recipe (always a good sign!). my mods: vegetable bouillon instead of beef stock (omitted additional salt); 2 T olive oil and 1 T butter; added 3 chopped garlic cloves. for mushrooms i used 2 portabello and about 12 whites; i bet you could successfully use whatever sort(s) you like (have!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
This was Excellent. I mixed some baby bella mushrooms in with the regular mushrooms. I served this with a Pan Roasted Duck. Took the left over Duck meat and soup and mixed together, next weekend we had Mushroom Duck soup. Chicken would work just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vincenzo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Good, alreay knew not to expect a "spicy" soup so added a couple of cloves of minced garlic, an extra carrot, 2 types of mushrooms and it was nice, subtle, comforting, filling change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States