Mushroom Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
If you love musrooms this is the soup for you..A few changes to this recipe low sodium beef broth, garlic & pearl barley. My Boyfriend and I think it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This soup is a good base recipe but I really feel it's overrated. As some other reviewers have noted the result has a hearty consistency but is bland. To make it special but keep it healthy I added 2/3 cup of sherry (red wine would also do nicely), two minced cloves of garlic to the onion sautee, and then minced a sprig of fresh rosemary (fresh tarragon or chopped fresh Italian parsley might also be nice). If you want a richer flavor consider using butter instead of olive oil to sautee the onions and garlic. This revised recipe would rate 4-5 stars but I can only give the original recipe 3 stars because it's just not exceptional without significant tinkering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I scaled the recipe to 2 servings, and added more mushrooms and onion than called for. Omitted the carrot and celery, but added some garlic powder and italian seasoning to the veggies as they sauteed & a couple splashes of worcestershire sauce to the broth. I like the chewy texture of barley, and this is a tasty way to use some and a KEEPER recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
This was a fantastic recipe! I added chicken and left out the celery (I didn't have any on hand) and used fresh baby bella mushrooms. I will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valandtim
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
This was great. I added more carrots and also only added one package of mushrooms. I also added 1 clove of minced garlic and 2 more cups of beef broth. Excellent and even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Very good but I added fresh dill parsley and thyme it took the recipe to a higher level. I also blended 3/4 of my vegetables after they simmered and before I added the barley for a thick consistency
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I also add cubed potato, it makes it more starchy. For extra flavor, I add one envelope of Lipton Onion soup and 3 dry bay leaves during cooking. I also add one teaspoon sour cream into my soup bowl. And I use baby bella mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
This is a very tasty and easy soup to make. I washed but didn't cook the barley in advance and added 2 cloves of chopped garlic to the other vegetables. Note - the day after the soup really thickens - as the barley soaks up a lot of the fluids. Just add boiling water, salt and pepper when re-heating and the soup will be just as good and last a little longer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I used Pacific Foods Mushroom Broth for a vegetarian version, vegetable broth works, too. Add "meaty" flavor with 1 tsp worcestershire sauce. I used small can of tomato sauce instead of past - worked fine. This is a thick and delicious soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Like others, I made the following changes: 1) added 2 bay leaves and 3 cloves garlic, 2) cooked veggies and barley in the same pot at the same time 3) increased beef broth to 8 C and added 2 C water 4) doubled celery and carrots. The result was a warm filling soup that was rather bland. It needs something else - maybe a can of tomatoes, or some spices, or some sherry. I am going to play around with the leftovers and see what I can come up with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States