Mushroom Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This was an excellent recipe. I put in three carrots and used home made chicken broth instead of beef. I made a double batch -- in one I added diced up honey smoked ham. It was actually better than the one without. Maybe better is wrong -- I just love ham. I did put in, at the recommendation of another reviewer, rosemary and garlic. Definitely have added the recipe to my make again file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Lindsey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Delicious! Added 1T butter to the saute and an extra carrot otherwise didn't change a thing, Will definitely make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This was great! I made a few adjustments....put my carrots and onion through the grate blade on my food processor.....sauteed in a little olive oil with the celery and 3 cloves of minced garlic.....I used sliced white mushrooms and used 6c. of home made veggie stock from this site...A must!!! The veggie stock really makes this soup. I also cooked the barley in my soup and added a little extra water as needed to the soup. Served for lunch yesterday and today.....great tasting and very healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This is just bland. I feel bad saying that since all the other reviews loved it but it needs something that provides more depth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This soup was phenomenal to say the very least. I could eat this for the rest of my life. I served it with fresh buttered pain au levain bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Another quick and easy soup, Will definitely be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I made this recipe as stated except that I didn't use celery, because I didn't have any, and I subbed "no beef" broth to make the soup vegan. My husband and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smallu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Pretty darn good for being converted to being made in a slow cooker. I really enjoyed it. The barley ended up a little glutinous so I added some more broth and water. Good with a french loaf! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice
Home Town: Fort Frances, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Excellent. Consider adding 1/2 bottle of cab if tripling recipe. Also shred and add 1/2 cabbage (love cabbage in all soups) and dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States