Musaka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2003
We really like this. I browned the ground beef in a little bit of olive oil and then drained the oil and fat. The potatoes were a tiny bit crunchy, but not too bad. I loved the yogurt sauce. My husband mixed a little barbeque sauce in with his to give it a little zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2003
This is both Greek and Turkish as the cusines are very simmilar. My Turkish mother-in-law taught me how to make this with sliced eggplant added. I also do not add extra water and finish cooking in the over for about 10 minutes before serving with the lid off. Tastes the best when made with homemade yougurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2003
This recipe is GREEK. It is a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2003
I really enjoyed this recipe, and it was easy to do. I took the other reviewers advice and drained the meat after cooking. I then added some more olive oil as I like the flavor. I used three of the large brown potatoes and microwaved them for 5 minutes before putting in the skillet. They came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2003
Maybe I chose the wrong potatoes, but there was no way I could fit them all into the pan with the meat. I used 2 potatoes and that was plenty. After reading reviews, I was sure to both drain the meat and then nuke the potato cubes in the microwave for 5 minutes before adding them to the meat. I added 1 teaspoon garlic powder while meat and potatoes were browining. I used 9 ounces of tomato sauce (could use up to 12), and I lightly sprinkled the entire pan of stuff with cinnamon before pouring into baking dish. I was very pleased with the final result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEATHER8470

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2003
I love this dish in Greek restraunts this is as good as any I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STORMI_O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA
Living In: Tekamah, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2003
the flavors in this are very tasty but i was not at all pleased with the potatoes. they never seemed to soften for me.. i think next time i may try eggplant or lasanga noodles. might even nuke the potatoes in the microwave before cooking on stove top & oven. as crazy as this sounds, i think a dash of cinnamon in the meat mix might even be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2003
This dish was very tasty and flavorful, but kind of soupy/watery even after removing spoonfuls of liquid before baking. It has an unusual flavor, different, but delicious. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2003
Personally I'd never even heard of Musaka, so didn't know what it was supposed to look like or taste like but the ingrediants sounded intreging. (OK, so I'm easily amused) I didn't realize till I popped the dish into the over that there was no "cook till golden brown" or "cook till potatoes are done" (although, in hindsight, I guess that's a given). I substituted some of the ground beef with mushrooms and onions, maybe that was a mistake. The dish was not very flavorful, although it was interesting. This recipe has promise but it needs further instruction and more flavor, more spices, maybe more tomato sauce or extra diced tomatoes. I'll give it one more shot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clermont, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2003
This was yummy! I didn't know what to expect from the spices used, but we loved it. Very tasty hearty dish. Kind of like chili with potatoes. The hamburger seemed to have enough fat on its own - I didn't use the oil at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States