Musaka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Even after almost 2 hrs in the oven, the potatoes were still hard! I ended up cranking the temp to 400° and covering it with foil and they finally softened after about half an hour. I also tripled all the seasonings bcuz it was quite bland with the recommended amount. If I make this again I will definitely drain the meat after cooking. It was super greasy and also the yogurt didn't brown as shown as shown in pic but it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
The chubritsa spice is called savory in case anyone is wondering :-) I haven't made this recipe yet but definitely will try it. Sounds yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
I just have one thing to add- chubritsa is actually just "savory". Easily found in most grocery stores.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nativeSDgirl
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
This was really good and healthy. I browned 4% fat ground beef then added the spices (I sub'd dried oregano, thyme and parsley for the savory) and some garlic. I put the beef in a bowl and added the potatoes and one diced eggplant to the pan with some stock. I cooked the potatoes and eggplant until tender. I added the beef mixture back into the pan with the potatoes and eggplant, and added a diced tomato and tomato sauce. I heated through then put in in an 8x10 glass dish that I sprayed with Pam. I cooked for 20 minutes at 325 then added the fat free yogurt/egg mixture on top and cooked until set, about 30 more minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nativeSDgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
My husband is Bulgarian, and I have had such a hard time finding recipes for traditional Bulgarian dishes to cook at home. This recipe was fantastic. His words were, "it's just like my grandmother makes it." I doubled the spices and used 60% ground pork, 40 % ground beef upon his suggestion. I also used a lot more yogurt than it calls for because he likes a thick fluffy top. I think it was a little over 2 c greek yogurt and 3 or 4 eggs with some salt for flavor. He LOVES it! If anyone has recipes for banitsa, kyufte, or kebabche, please share!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
This is a great recipe! I make only couple of changes to it though... I brown the beef with a chopped onion and I do not drain the fat. I will add the tomato sauce, seasoning( the best one is thyme) and let the meat cool off. I add an egg to the mixture just to keep it together and not look like spaghetti meat. I boil the potatoes and mash them up. In greased pan I pour half of the mashed potatoes, spread the meat( all of it) and the spread the remaining mashed potatoes. I use water enough to cover everything and bake at 325 for 35-40 minutes, and the i use 3-4 beaten eggs to pour over. Bake until the eggs looked cooked and serve with sour cream and chopped green onions for taste. Enjoy it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I am Bulgarian and the dish is almost spot on. Traditionally we use pork instead of beef. In the states I use half pork and half beef, draining the fat after browning. Also, a very crucial step is that the yogurt/egg/ mixture should be added to the top about 10 minutes before the dish is done cooking, not at the beginning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmerar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
There are a few things that are omitted from the recipe. The egg, flour, yogurt and cilantro mixture that you put on top comes in at the end. You first cook the other ingredients until most of the water has evaporated (reduction) and then when the potatoes are brown and can easily be cut into with a knife, you pour the "hat" of yogurt, milk and flour which then solidifies the meat and potatoes and gives the whole dish a lasagna-like square look. When the egg mixture gets light brown is when the dish is ready to chill and serve. Meat could be substituted, Bulgarians like to do it with a 50/50 mix of veal/pork or lamb/pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
This was so easy. I doubled the spices and used garden basil as suggested by the submitter. What an easy bechamel sauce to make! I was looking for a musaka recipe to make that used potatoes instead of eggplant and this fit the bill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I really like this dish - so simple, quick to throw together, and very satisfying. At the advice of other reviewers I cut the olive oil to 2T. I used very lean beef and didn't drain, the final product was not too greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States