Murphy Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
You MUST love garlic to enjoy these steaks. I would like to recommend making your slits for the garlic on the sides - all around rather than the top and bottom. This also would work well with other cuts of beef - not just tenderloin. Garlic lovers will love these steaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2005
I'll stick with marinating next time. I refrigerated mine with the garlice for 8 hours, and felt these lacked flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gordon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2000
really simple and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
It is hard to stop saying this but you are using some of my favorite ingredients. I think I put garlic in everything. This is mouthwatering. The last time I did these I added a little butter in the holes with the garlic just to make it even juicier. I had throat surgery and the juicier the meat the easier it is to go down....Wxcellent flavor!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sumiton, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2004
This was good and easy. I added a little Fiesta Fajita seasoning and Cavender's Greek seasoning before grilling because we like a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2004
This was VERY easy to do and very simple/basic. I put in the fridge for 12 hours and it turned out very well. I do think that we like our meat with a little bit more flavor. It was a good basic recipe for us. I will definately use again and play around with more flavors. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This is a garlic lovers' dream come true!!! I use this recipe on sirloin steaks also. Although, with sirloin steaks, I have our butcher cut the sirloins 1 1/2 inches thick!!! With that thickness, I then stuff garlic slices about every inch, on BOTH sides of the steaks, then allow the steaks to set for at least 4 hours, and then charcoal broil the steaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ed J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA
Living In: Strawberry, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
Used minced garlic. Didn't like the appearance. Think it would have been just as good to use garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
We loved the steaks grilled this way. We did let the steaks sit for 5 hours to get more of the garlic flavor infused and did not cut the cloves too thin, about 5 slivers per clove. Also added blue cheese at the end of grill time as another reviewer suggested and drizzed garlic butter over steaks when they were done, can't get too much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Simple and great! I prepared and let sit in fridge a few hours before cooking.Also lightly brushed with steak sauce.thank you Carisa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

Slow Cooker Cheese Steaks

The slow cooker is the best way to make perfectly tender cheese steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States