Murgh Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
This is the closest to authentic chicken makhani recipe on this website. I probably shouldn't say that, because all indian kitchens have their own way of making makhani. I make mine almost exactly the same, but I do not use onions at all in the sauce. I also prefer to use chicken breasts, although the thighs really make the correct texture. I make this dish for my husband who hates indian food, and hates rice, so I always make this for him and serve NAAN with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
This is such a delicious recipe! I made a couple of adjustments, only because I decided to make this last-minute and didn't have fenugreek or Indian chili powder. Also I used coconut milk instead of half-and-half, which was INCREDIBLE! I've tried it both ways now (half-and-half and coconut milk) and I'm not sure which I like better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
This was delicious! I forgot the butter and it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
My family loved this recipe. I prepared it a bit differently, but flexibility is another plus for this recipe. I boiled bone-in chicken thighs, shredded the meat and added it to the sauce which I prepared separately. This lets me set aside plain meat for my toddlers, but lets the adults still eat what they want. I sauteed the onion/ginger/garlic puree in oil for several minutes, then sauteed in the spices, then added the yogurt and the cream. I added the chicken and let everything sit over low heat, covered, for about 40 minutes to let the flavors of the sauce and chicken exchange. It was great. I was able to find tomato sauce without seasoning so I did use tomato sauce, otherwise I would have used tomato puree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Made it with tofu ;-)....Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
This is the first time I've made Butter Chicken and it was divine! Thanks for the amazing recipe. I will be making this again...and again...and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
So delicious. As good as any you would get in an Indian restaurant. I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
This was really delicious and got rave reviews from my husband! I was forced to change the recipe, only because I couldn't find some of the ingredients. Instead of FennelGreek leaves I used a few chopped spinach leaves. Instead of half and half I used a mixture of melted butter, flour and 1% milk. Instead of the Tandoori Masala I used a Tikka Masala sauce from a jar. I also put a bit more Garam Masala in it, as well as yogurt. Once done, I topped it with a bit more yogurt. Overall it was very good, with a nice mild curry taste. Will definitely make this again because it was super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAHCANADA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I have had butter chicken in many Indian restaurants. This recipe is So easy and So good. I really like spice so I doubled the chilli powder. I used good Indian ingredients from the Indian Market too. I would not change a thing. Next time I am going to double it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roblin, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
We loved this recipe! Just delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States