Murgh Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
This one is really hard to review properly as I was unable to find 3 of the ingredients locally and had to improvise. It is really between 3-4 stars but I am going to err on the side of 3 for now. I have ordered the 3 ingredients I am missing thus I will update my review when I can make it as written. I figure others my have issues finding these ingredients and are wondering how the substitutions found on the web will work which is why I've chosen to review it in this manner. The ingredients I could not get were, Indian chili powder, frnugreek leaves, and tandoori masala. I found a recipe online to make my own tandori but that too called for fenegreek leaves so I just omitted them. in place of indian chili powder I used hungarian hot paprika and I just omitted the fenugreek leaves bc my research told me that they do not all a whole lot to the recipe. The dish was not bad. good enough flavor but nothing that would knock my socks off My husband said he liked it and my 2yr old ate some too without any resistanced. I used sea salt and unfortunately that caused the dish to be a tad too salty so I will cut that back by half next time. I am really looking forward to trying this again with the proper ingredients but you are able to make a passable version with substations if need be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I also used heavy cream instead of 1/2 & 1/2 and added fresh methi leaves.....delicious for our thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
This is simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizRicksLiebe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
This is the closest to authentic chicken makhani recipe on this website. I probably shouldn't say that, because all indian kitchens have their own way of making makhani. I make mine almost exactly the same, but I do not use onions at all in the sauce. I also prefer to use chicken breasts, although the thighs really make the correct texture. I make this dish for my husband who hates indian food, and hates rice, so I always make this for him and serve NAAN with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
This is such a delicious recipe! I made a couple of adjustments, only because I decided to make this last-minute and didn't have fenugreek or Indian chili powder. Also I used coconut milk instead of half-and-half, which was INCREDIBLE! I've tried it both ways now (half-and-half and coconut milk) and I'm not sure which I like better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
This was delicious! I forgot the butter and it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
My family loved this recipe. I prepared it a bit differently, but flexibility is another plus for this recipe. I boiled bone-in chicken thighs, shredded the meat and added it to the sauce which I prepared separately. This lets me set aside plain meat for my toddlers, but lets the adults still eat what they want. I sauteed the onion/ginger/garlic puree in oil for several minutes, then sauteed in the spices, then added the yogurt and the cream. I added the chicken and let everything sit over low heat, covered, for about 40 minutes to let the flavors of the sauce and chicken exchange. It was great. I was able to find tomato sauce without seasoning so I did use tomato sauce, otherwise I would have used tomato puree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Made it with tofu ;-)....Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
This is the first time I've made Butter Chicken and it was divine! Thanks for the amazing recipe. I will be making this again...and again...and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
So delicious. As good as any you would get in an Indian restaurant. I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States