Murgh Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2015
I have made this wonderful dish four times. Not the most low-cal thing in my recipe book, but the flavors are fantastic. I didn't change anything. All ingredients are available at the local Indian market. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat Galvin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bbhm1986
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Over all the taste was good, very similar to restaurant we visit. However I used crushed tomatoes,heavy cream,cayenne instead of Indian chili powder and used the left over marinade to cook the chicken instead of discarding it. I like spice in my indian food and this reciepe wasn't spicey. I would highly recommend marinating the chicken longer then an hour and instead of using cream I would use a couple heaping spoons of Indian yogurt next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Adjusted the oil down some and used whole Chicken Thighs instead of boneless skinless...was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Really yummy- couldn't find fenugreek, so it might be even better with that, but other than that, it was really easy and super yummy- definitely going to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by atbarber
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
This was delicious! Made a couple of substitutions based on what I had at hand - Coconut milk for half and half, celery leaves for fenugreek leaves. Made my own spice mixtures from recipes on this site. I used boneless, skinless chicken breasts instead of chicken thighs which is what I had on hand. My cooking oil was extra virgin organic coconut oil. Served over brown basmati rice and added some fresh broccoli and green beans during the last 15 mins of cooking. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by atbarber

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sara Chemodurow
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
I feel like I've tried about fifteen different Indian butter chicken recipes, and this one is hands down the best. One quick tip: I've made this four or five times, and it turns out the best when I follow the cooking times outlined in the directions exactly. It really is important in this one! Thanks for adding, DHANO923!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Chemodurow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I added 1 teaspoon Butter chicken masala into sauce and 1 teaspoon butter chicken masala while frying the chicken. Used sour cream instead of yoghurt as I didn't have any. Turned out super. The corn starch was not required. I did add a bit of water as I found the sauce / gravy a bit thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Tastes just like in a restaurant. I have cooked this multiple times and everybody loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly Murphy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
This is a really easy and effective recipe. I used milk and left over clotted cream in place of the half and half and tomato puree instead of the tomato sauce. I did have to look up "half and half", where I come from it means half chips half rice. I was confused.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Loved this. Didn't have the fenugreek. Can't seem to find it anywhere. Used whipping cream because that's what I had and Pepper flakes. Simply delicious. Nice balance of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States