Murgh Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
True to it's description, this is the "simple home version" that I have been looking for without the hassles of grinding cashews, grilling the chicken, etc, etc. The best decision I made was to follow the recipe exactly as it was written even down to the minutes for cooking each layer of ingredients, and that definitely paid off. The only substitution I made was using a tsp of frozen fenugreek leaves instead of dried, but I don't think that hurt it too much. Don't be deterred if you can't find the fenugreek leaves at all...I'm sure it's fine even without them. Will definitely be making this again for many years to come. Thanks so much for submitting this recipe! PS. One small note, if the chicken releases some water when initially browning it, dump it out of the pan before heating the remaining oil and browning the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
This was yummy, but I would recommend a couple things. Use heavy whipping cream instead of half and half. Or, condensed canned milk if you want a lighter dish. In India they never use half and half. For the "cooking oil," use vegetable oil. For the butter, you can make "ghee," which is cooked butter with removed fat. You cook the butter in a pan, and when you see the white coagulation on the top, strain the melted butter through a cheesecloth. You will have the golden goodness of the butter without the other stuff. It tastes nutty and flavorful, and if you're wondering what this stuff is - it's what you get with lobster at a good restaurant! You'll have to use a bit more butter (I use a pound) if you're going to make ghee. A lot will be removed in the straining process. Also, "tomato sauce" may be confusing. Don't use the stuff you use for pasta! (but that might be a big DUH). Use a can of pure tomatoes, diced or whole. Use the juice! And, one more thing. I tend to like more sauce with my rice and meat (I like to slurp it up with garlic naan and jasmine rice!) If you're like me, you'll want to use more heavy cream and yogurt. This will mean a pinch more of spices (careful with the chili powder!) Another tip - add yogurt to the dish slowly, so the rest of the sauce will "accept" it... the yogurt will curdle if too much is added at once. Happy eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JosiePosie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
This is a very good recipe that I will definitely make again. Next time I'll probably add less salt (1/2-3/4 t), and less Indian chili powder (1/8 t) so it's not quite as spicy. I used a combo of condensed milk and half & half and it turned out nicely. I ended up adding extra half & half just to balance out the salt and heat. But we loved this meal served over jasmine rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
I used heavy whipping cream instead of Half-n-Half, and I increased the chili powder to 1/2t. Great easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Love this recipe! this was my first foray into Indian cooking and I was pleased to say it was pretty good! I love how everything is more or less scratch, and delicious. I add a bit more garlic (hard to go wrong!) and serve with naan bread and rice. since I can't find fenugreek leaves, I use the powder. I actually did this for my extended family around Christmas, and even for my grandparents whose palettes aren't particularly adventurous, they really enjoyed this meal. yummy! I have also added spinach at the last minute and it was a nice flavour as well with a bit more nutrition :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Easy recipe that resulted in a very tasty dish. I didn't make it very spicy by not adding very much chili powder. The dish was very flavourful so I didn't have to add very much salt either. I marinated the pieces of chicken thighs overnight and they turned out great. I also doubled the garlic/onion/ginger paste, tomatoes and evaporated milk because I wanted double the amount of sauce. I cooked some mushrooms in the extra sauce and it was delicious. I would make this again because it is a simple recipe with great flavour. I used canned crushed tomatoes this time but next time I might try to puree canned diced tomatoes or fresh ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
We really liked this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
very good. I used lentils instead of chicken since I'm vegetarian and I thought it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I loved it, especially because it leaves a spicy hot taste in the back of the throat. I changed the half and half for half of sour cream. I really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sofia Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterrey, Nuevo León, Mexico
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
So easy and my kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States