Murgh Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
It was good! I didn't have tandoori powder so I used garam masala instead. Also, I don't have fenugreek leaves in my area, so I used 1/2t fenugreek powder and some dried cilantro leaves instead. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Watertown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
I will never bother to make another butter chicken...I could drink the sauce...O.k., I do drink the sauce....It's amazing!! I dream about making this recipe again....:) Every person I have made it for is extremely impressed. It rivals or surpasses multiple restaurant butter chickens... I use whipping cream over half and half...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gracie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Wow, this was a big hit! I did triple all ingredients and used cut-up boneless, skinless chicken breast. I cooked cut-up chicken breast in a non-stick dry grill pan and cooled. Then I marinated it in the yogurt/tandoori masala mixture in a plastic bag in the fridge. I reduced the oil used to about 1 tbsp. that I cooked the onion/ginger/garlic paste in. I was unable to find Indian chili powder and so I used regular chili powder which worked out just fine. Fabulous recipe, great instructions, easy to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
Absolutely delicious! Better than ANY butter chicken we had in India & we had it in several places! Wouldn't change a thing about it... We like it with the naan recipe on allrecipes that has the best rating & with Gulab Jamun for dessert with Masala tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
We loved it! Didn't buy enough thighs, so am making it a second meal by adding a chicken breast that I'll marinate the same way as the thighs, then add to the sauce I still have and Bingo meal two! Also didn't have heavy cream, so I used half coffee cream and 1% milk, and it worked like a charm. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Nelson, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
This was every bit as good as the butter chicken served in restaurants, my husband was really impressed with me! I didn't have yogurt for the marinade so I used sour cream, it still worked really well. I'll use this recipe again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
I have looked for years for a Butter Chicken recipe that could compare to what I get at good local Indian restaurants and this is as close as I have come. Fantastic! The family loves it! Thank you for sharing it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I absolutely loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Wonderful - made a substitution of 2 bay leaves for the fenugreek, but otherwise stuck to the recipe exactly. Perfect dish with just the right amount of heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond Hill, New York, USA
Living In: Lake Ronkonkoma, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I used this recipe mainly as a reference for the spices. I made it with lamb sprinkled with all the salt, garam masala, and tandoori masala - when the lamb was browned and all liquid evaporated, I added the ground ginger, onion, and garlic, and cooked for about 10 minutes. Then I added crushed tomatoes and cooked for about 45 minutes, until lamb was tender, then stirred in the cream. Really really good. Oh, and depending on the spiciness of your tandoori masala, the chili powder may not be necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States