Murgh Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Really yummy- couldn't find fenugreek, so it might be even better with that, but other than that, it was really easy and super yummy- definitely going to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by atbarber
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
This was delicious! Made a couple of substitutions based on what I had at hand - Coconut milk for half and half, celery leaves for fenugreek leaves. Made my own spice mixtures from recipes on this site. I used boneless, skinless chicken breasts instead of chicken thighs which is what I had on hand. My cooking oil was extra virgin organic coconut oil. Served over brown basmati rice and added some fresh broccoli and green beans during the last 15 mins of cooking. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by atbarber

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sara C.
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
I feel like I've tried about fifteen different Indian butter chicken recipes, and this one is hands down the best. One quick tip: I've made this four or five times, and it turns out the best when I follow the cooking times outlined in the directions exactly. It really is important in this one! Thanks for adding, DHANO923!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I added 1 teaspoon Butter chicken masala into sauce and 1 teaspoon butter chicken masala while frying the chicken. Used sour cream instead of yoghurt as I didn't have any. Turned out super. The corn starch was not required. I did add a bit of water as I found the sauce / gravy a bit thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Tastes just like in a restaurant. I have cooked this multiple times and everybody loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly Murphy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
This is a really easy and effective recipe. I used milk and left over clotted cream in place of the half and half and tomato puree instead of the tomato sauce. I did have to look up "half and half", where I come from it means half chips half rice. I was confused.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Loved this. Didn't have the fenugreek. Can't seem to find it anywhere. Used whipping cream because that's what I had and Pepper flakes. Simply delicious. Nice balance of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
This was amazing! Made it per the recipe other than I used fenugreek seeds ground up. Husband and teenage boys loved it served with naan. Ive made it several times. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
It was good! I didn't have tandoori powder so I used garam masala instead. Also, I don't have fenugreek leaves in my area, so I used 1/2t fenugreek powder and some dried cilantro leaves instead. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Watertown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
I will never bother to make another butter chicken...I could drink the sauce...O.k., I do drink the sauce....It's amazing!! I dream about making this recipe again....:) Every person I have made it for is extremely impressed. It rivals or surpasses multiple restaurant butter chickens... I use whipping cream over half and half...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gracie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States