Murgh Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I added 1 teaspoon Butter chicken masala into sauce and 1 teaspoon butter chicken masala while frying the chicken. Used sour cream instead of yoghurt as I didn't have any. Turned out super. The corn starch was not required. I did add a bit of water as I found the sauce / gravy a bit thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Tastes just like in a restaurant. I have cooked this multiple times and everybody loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly Murphy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
This is a really easy and effective recipe. I used milk and left over clotted cream in place of the half and half and tomato puree instead of the tomato sauce. I did have to look up "half and half", where I come from it means half chips half rice. I was confused.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Loved this. Didn't have the fenugreek. Can't seem to find it anywhere. Used whipping cream because that's what I had and Pepper flakes. Simply delicious. Nice balance of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
This was amazing! Made it per the recipe other than I used fenugreek seeds ground up. Husband and teenage boys loved it served with naan. Ive made it several times. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
It was good! I didn't have tandoori powder so I used garam masala instead. Also, I don't have fenugreek leaves in my area, so I used 1/2t fenugreek powder and some dried cilantro leaves instead. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Watertown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
I will never bother to make another butter chicken...I could drink the sauce...O.k., I do drink the sauce....It's amazing!! I dream about making this recipe again....:) Every person I have made it for is extremely impressed. It rivals or surpasses multiple restaurant butter chickens... I use whipping cream over half and half...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gracie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Wow, this was a big hit! I did triple all ingredients and used cut-up boneless, skinless chicken breast. I cooked cut-up chicken breast in a non-stick dry grill pan and cooled. Then I marinated it in the yogurt/tandoori masala mixture in a plastic bag in the fridge. I reduced the oil used to about 1 tbsp. that I cooked the onion/ginger/garlic paste in. I was unable to find Indian chili powder and so I used regular chili powder which worked out just fine. Fabulous recipe, great instructions, easy to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
Absolutely delicious! Better than ANY butter chicken we had in India & we had it in several places! Wouldn't change a thing about it... We like it with the naan recipe on allrecipes that has the best rating & with Gulab Jamun for dessert with Masala tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
We loved it! Didn't buy enough thighs, so am making it a second meal by adding a chicken breast that I'll marinate the same way as the thighs, then add to the sauce I still have and Bingo meal two! Also didn't have heavy cream, so I used half coffee cream and 1% milk, and it worked like a charm. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Nelson, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States