Munn Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I added more poppyseeds because I love them..Did some with colored sugar on top and others I glazed once cool with an icing sugar/lemon juice/lemon rind mix. My husband liked the sugar ones and I preferred them glazed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This was the delicious crispy cookies. I like cookies crispier. I've tried several other lemmon (and lime) cookie recipes from this site, and they always turned out soft cake like cookies. But I made perfect crispy lemmon poppyseed cookies with this one. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kahori526

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
just what I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Tried these on a whim and followed the recipe exactly and the results? Amazing! Think I found a new fave for X-Mas baking. as a tip: watch the thickness. But if some of them don't come out perfect enough to give out, well Darn! Looks like you'll have to take care of those yourself ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly and they came out great. When I was a kid, my aunt made these cookies with no lemon but used vanilla. I tried that too and they were very good. I soak the popy seeds in milk or buttermilk for 20 minutes first and put them in with the butter and egg yolk not using the milk although I'm sure you can. I just made a batch with real maple sugar and used the maple sugar for the topping too. They were very good. Next time I will use more maple sugar as the taste was very mild like the lemon. Overall a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Those who've not tried this recipe are really missing out! This is a great cookie to add to a more traditional holiday plate, because it looks so elegant. The taste is subtle with a lovely lemony finish. (I was generous with the lemon zest.) I was initially concerned about straying away from the circle shape, but my stars turned out lovely. I could easily see one adding a nice sugar glaze if they want a more decadent flavor, but I don't think it's necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenai, Alaska, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2000
Munn cookies are a traditional recipe passed down from generation to generation. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
This is a wondeerful recipe. The cookies tasted just heavenly with a light citrus flavor and, as the author indicated, they are great with tea. It really accent the flavor of Earl Grey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pine Knot, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2003
These are always a big hit . Whenever I bring them to a gathering I'm always asked for the recipe!. Sometime I substitute orange zest and organge juice and they are wonderful also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2003
These cookies are very crumbly and biscuit like. I didn't use quite 1/2 cup of poppy seeds. Instead of egg wash and sugar on top I used sugar cookie icing from this site and added lemon extract and yellow food coloring. I usually like thick chewy cut out cookies but the thin crispies were better with these. I did not like these without the icing but they were very good with it. Very tart and fresh! Thanks Alex!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States