Munn Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jessica.nemec
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
These are really tasty and super easy. I love the lightness of the cookies and how they are not overly sweet. I will make these again! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Fun recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I made mine into balls and then flattened out like I would peanut butter cookies, but I think I would make them thinner next time as suggest by many others. They were very tart. I think I would add less lemon next time and try to roll them in tons of sugar. That is just how I prefer my cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alanna Groen
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
Ok. Found this because I'm at a cousin's wedding in CA and can't find our grandmother's recipe. Reading this brings it back. These are a Major Family Tradition from our eastern European Jewish heritage. But, our recipe uses oil to replace butter and 1/4 cup oj and no zest or lemon, no sugar topping. Important to brown 1/4" edge and a darkened meaning not a bright or white center. Keep them thin and krispy. Real sticky to roll and cut. Keep a slab of marble dusted with flour or will stck to marble and roller. I add the fresh Polish poppy seeds fro Penzey's at the last minite to help mixing and folding. Also refrig the dough for couple hours or overnite before rolling. It helps a lot. I make tubes and then.roll them and cut onto parallelograms and place on cookie sheet slicked with crisco. Not too much but enough to aboid sticking. I think ours uses a full cup of sugar but they come out with a lite mild sweetness. I break the batch of dough in half and freeze until a family event or an emergency munn cookie craving ... or my mom's birthday. Last batch 10 days ago for her 88th. Tip: don't forget the sugar and not a drop more than one cup of oil. NO BuTTER. I brought my own Penzey'S seeds from Philadelphia to Venice Beach. Rented a house so we'd have an oven today. Wedding is tomorrow. Also brought Tastykakes just in case I forgot the recipe. But that is why I'm here sharing with y'all. Turning on oven now. Bye.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Billy the Kid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Tripoli, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly and they came out great. When I was a kid, my aunt made these cookies with no lemon but used vanilla. I tried that too and they were very good. I soak the popy seeds in milk or buttermilk for 20 minutes first and put them in with the butter and egg yolk not using the milk although I'm sure you can. I just made a batch with real maple sugar and used the maple sugar for the topping too. They were very good. Next time I will use more maple sugar as the taste was very mild like the lemon. Overall a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Tried these on a whim and followed the recipe exactly and the results? Amazing! Think I found a new fave for X-Mas baking. as a tip: watch the thickness. But if some of them don't come out perfect enough to give out, well Darn! Looks like you'll have to take care of those yourself ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Those who've not tried this recipe are really missing out! This is a great cookie to add to a more traditional holiday plate, because it looks so elegant. The taste is subtle with a lovely lemony finish. (I was generous with the lemon zest.) I was initially concerned about straying away from the circle shape, but my stars turned out lovely. I could easily see one adding a nice sugar glaze if they want a more decadent flavor, but I don't think it's necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenai, Alaska, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
I'd never tasted or even heard of these cookies before I saw the recipe here while looking for a lemon and poppy seed muffin recipe. I made these cookies instead. These came out so good. I got about 8 dozen cookies out of the batch (I used a smallish heart-shaped cookie cutter). Not having tasted them before, the taste and texture of the cookie base itself reminded me a little of a shortbread cookie. These cookies go really well with a cup of tea, as noted in another review. The cookies are only mildly sweet. They keep their shape well while baking. They are sturdy and crunchy without being hard. I had a slight problem with the dough sticking as I rolled it out, so I just dusted on some more flour to make it work. I am about to make another batch right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
The name comes from the German word for POPPY which is MOHN. The thinner you make them, the better. They are very dense - like a shortbread - and not sweet. Great with coffee. The dough is crumbly, so when I get to the end, I form a log (this could be done in plastic) and slice the log. I also use a small cookie cutter as the larger they are, the harder they are to cook through to the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
just what I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States